APPLEiPad (10thgeneration)
Apple iPad (10th generation) 2022 · from $449 · Entry-Level Tablet
APPLEiPad (A16)
Apple iPad (A16) 2025 · from $349 · Entry-Level Tablet

iPad 10th Gen vs iPad A16

The iPad 10th Gen and the iPad A16 are two Apple products from different product lines: related by name, separate by design. Here the question is less “which is better?” and more “which strength do you need?” Is it performance with the iPad 10th Gen, or memory & storage with the iPad A16? On top of that, the iPad 10th Gen asked $100 more at launch.

Summarize this comparison with AI:

At a glance

  • Display Tie
  • Performance iPad 10th Gen wins
  • Memory & Storage iPad A16 wins
  • Cameras Tie
  • Battery & Connectivity Tie
  • Price iPad A16 wins
iPad 10th Gen Spec score by area
  • Memory & Storage3.3
  • Cameras10.0
iPad A16 Spec score by area
  • Memory & Storage10.0
  • Cameras10.0

Spec scores (0 to 10) are calculated from manufacturer specs against other models in the same class. See how the formula works. They are not reviews or user ratings.

Key Differences

  1. The iPad A16 has 128 GB of base storage instead of 64 GB

    Of all the specs we compared, this is one where the iPad A16 makes its strongest case: 128 GB against 64 GB. Base storage decides how many movies, games and projects you can keep on the tablet without paying for an upgrade.

  2. The iPad A16 has a bigger top storage option

    The iPad A16 clearly leads on max storage, and 512 GB versus 256 GB is a difference that reaches well beyond the spec sheet. Most buyers won’t need the maximum, so this is a niche advantage rather than an everyday one.

  3. The iPad 10th Gen has 1 more CPU cores

    Think of it as a tiebreaker rather than a deal-breaker: 6 for the iPad 10th Gen, 5 for the iPad A16. For browsing and streaming, core count rarely matters; for creative work, the iPad 10th Gen’s extra cores give more headroom.

Design & Size

Front-view size comparison drawn from official dimensions. iPad 10th Gen is 9.79 in × 7.07 in, iPad A16 is 9.79 in × 7.07 in (height × width)
  • iPad 10th Gen 9.79 in × 7.07 in × 0.28 in
  • iPad A16 9.79 in × 7.07 in × 0.28 in
The silhouettes come straight from the official measurements; they compare size, not looks.

If you’re worried about fit, relax: either tablet occupies roughly the same footprint. On weight, call it even.

Design & Build
Design & Build: iPad 10th Gen vs iPad A16
SpeciPad 10th GeniPad A16
Height 9.79 in 9.79 in
Width 7.07 in 7.07 in
Thickness 0.28 in 0.28 in
Weight 16.83 oz 16.83 oz

Display

Too close to call

The iPad 10th Gen and the iPad A16 match each other closely in this area. Bottom line for display: it’s a wash.

Screen size

iPad 10th Gen: 10.9 in
iPad A16: 11 in

Pixel density

iPad 10th Gen: 264 ppi
iPad A16: 264 ppi

Refresh rate

iPad 10th Gen: 60 Hz
iPad A16: 60 Hz

Peak brightness (SDR)

iPad 10th Gen: 500 nits
iPad A16: 500 nits
iPad 10th GeniPad A16

Performance

iPad 10th Gen leads

This area is close, with the iPad 10th Gen just ahead of the iPad A16. The iPad 10th Gen wins here with 1 more CPU cores. Core count is only part of the picture, since chip design and clock speeds also shape performance. Bottom line for performance: the iPad 10th Gen has the edge.

CPU cores

iPad 10th Gen: 6 (winner)
iPad A16: 5

GPU cores

iPad 10th Gen: 4
iPad A16: 4
iPad 10th GeniPad A16

CPU cores

iPad 10th Gen: 6 iPad A16: 5 More CPU cores help when you run several demanding apps at once or export large files.

Memory & Storage

iPad A16 leads

The iPad A16 dominates the memory & storage section, and the gaps are large enough to matter in daily use. The iPad A16 delivers 128 GB of base storage instead of 64 GB. Downloaded shows and large creative files fill space fast, so the iPad A16’s bigger starting capacity is a practical win. For memory & storage, the iPad A16 is the one to beat.

Base storage

iPad 10th Gen: 64 GB
iPad A16: 128 GB (winner)

Max storage

iPad 10th Gen: 256 GB
iPad A16: 512 GB (winner)
iPad 10th GeniPad A16

Base storage

iPad 10th Gen: 64 GB iPad A16: 128 GB If you mostly stream and use cloud storage, the base tier matters less; if you work offline, it matters a lot.

Max storage

iPad 10th Gen: 256 GB iPad A16: 512 GB A bigger top storage option matters for people who keep large video projects or media libraries on the device.

Accessories & Productivity

For accessories & productivity, the spec sheet lists components and formats rather than figures we can rank. The table shows what the iPad 10th Gen and the iPad A16 each bring.

Cameras

Too close to call

There’s little to choose between them when it comes to cameras. For cameras, pick whichever you prefer for other reasons.

Rear camera

iPad 10th Gen: 12 MP
iPad A16: 12 MP

Front camera

iPad 10th Gen: 12 MP
iPad A16: 12 MP
iPad 10th GeniPad A16

Battery & Connectivity

Too close to call

Neither the iPad 10th Gen nor the iPad A16 has a real advantage in the battery & connectivity category. Don’t let battery & connectivity decide this one; look at the other sections instead.

Rated battery life

iPad 10th Gen: 10 h
iPad A16: 10 h
iPad 10th GeniPad A16

Full Specifications

Display
Display: iPad 10th Gen vs iPad A16
SpeciPad 10th GeniPad A16
Screen size 10.9 in 11 in
Panel type Liquid Retina (LCD) Liquid Retina (LCD)
Resolution 2360 x 1640 2360 x 1640
Pixel density 264 ppi 264 ppi
Refresh rate 60 Hz 60 Hz
Peak brightness (SDR) 500 nits 500 nits
Fully laminated display No No
Performance
Performance: iPad 10th Gen vs iPad A16
SpeciPad 10th GeniPad A16
Chip A14 Bionic A16
CPU cores 6 (winner) 5
GPU cores 4 4
Memory & Storage
Memory & Storage: iPad 10th Gen vs iPad A16
SpeciPad 10th GeniPad A16
Base storage 64 GB 128 GB (winner) Most base storage
Max storage 256 GB 512 GB (winner) Biggest storage option
Accessories & Productivity
Accessories & Productivity: iPad 10th Gen vs iPad A16
SpeciPad 10th GeniPad A16
Stylus support Apple Pencil (1st generation, via adapter), Apple Pencil (USB-C) Apple Pencil (USB-C), Apple Pencil (1st generation)
Keyboard accessory Magic Keyboard Folio Magic Keyboard Folio
OS at launch iPadOS 16 iPadOS 18
Cameras
Cameras: iPad 10th Gen vs iPad A16
SpeciPad 10th GeniPad A16
Rear camera 12 MP 12 MP
Front camera 12 MP 12 MP
Front camera position Landscape edge Landscape edge
Battery & Connectivity
Battery & Connectivity: iPad 10th Gen vs iPad A16
SpeciPad 10th GeniPad A16
Battery 28.6 Wh Smallest battery in class N/A (not specified)
Rated battery lifeManufacturer rating 10 h 10 h
Port USB-C (USB 2) USB-C (USB 2)
Cellular option Yes Yes
Wi-Fi Wi-Fi 6 Wi-Fi 6
Design & Build
Design & Build: iPad 10th Gen vs iPad A16
SpeciPad 10th GeniPad A16
Height 9.79 in 9.79 in
Width 7.07 in 7.07 in
Thickness 0.28 in 0.28 in
Weight 16.83 oz 16.83 oz
Price
Price: iPad 10th Gen vs iPad A16
SpeciPad 10th GeniPad A16
Launch price $449 Priciest in class $349 (winner)

“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.

Price & Value

iPad 10th Gen $449 US launch MSRP, Wi-Fi 64 GB
iPad A16 $349 US launch MSRP, Wi-Fi 128 GB

A launch price gap of 29% is hard to ignore, and in this case it amounts to $100 in favor of the iPad A16. The spec sheets don’t crown a clear winner, so the $100 gap may do it instead.

These are US launch prices, recorded March 2025; what you pay today may be higher or lower.

Which One Should You Buy?

Choose the iPad 10th Gen if…

  • you run demanding apps or heavy multitasking (6 vs 5 CPU cores)
  • you find the iPad 10th Gen already covers everything you need
iPad 10th Gen specs & rivals

Choose the iPad A16 if…

  • you keep movies, games or large projects on the device (128 GB vs 64 GB base storage)
  • you work with big files and want the larger top option (512 GB vs 256 GB)
  • you’d rather keep $100 in your pocket
  • you want the changes the iPad A16 brings over its predecessor
iPad A16 specs & rivals

Also Compared

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is better for most people, the iPad 10th Gen or the iPad A16?

For most buyers, the iPad A16 makes more sense: it launched $100 below the iPad 10th Gen.

Is the iPad A16 worth it over the iPad 10th Gen?

If those changes matter to you, yes: the iPad A16 adds 128 GB of base storage instead of 64 GB and a bigger top storage option compared with the iPad 10th Gen.

Which has better battery life, the iPad 10th Gen or the iPad A16?

Neither has a meaningful advantage. The iPad 10th Gen and the iPad A16 are rated close enough that your usage will matter more than the spec sheet.

Is the iPad 10th Gen bigger than the iPad A16?

The iPad 10th Gen and the iPad A16 are so close in size that you’d struggle to tell them apart on dimensions alone.

Does the iPad 10th Gen perform better than the iPad A16?

On paper, the iPad 10th Gen is the stronger performer, with 1 more CPU cores.

Is the iPad 10th Gen cheaper than the iPad A16?

At launch, the iPad A16 undercut the iPad 10th Gen by $100. These figures are as of March 2025, and street prices can change.

Executive Summary

Founder & Editor

If you’ve settled on this lineup, the iPad 10th Gen or the iPad A16 is the last call to make. Here’s mine. It’s hard to argue with 128 GB of base storage instead of 64 GB, which is exactly what the iPad A16 brings. Fairness check: the iPad 10th Gen does come with 1 more CPU cores.

A quick self-test: do you care more about performance or memory & storage? The first answer means the iPad 10th Gen, the second means the iPad A16.

My pick: honestly, the iPad A16; the iPad 10th Gen is good, just not $100 better.

Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.

Independent comparison, not affiliated with Apple. Specs from manufacturer data as compiled by VersusVerdict. · Last updated: · Spotted an error? Report a correction

Summarize this comparison with AI: