

Equinox EV vs Hornet
The Equinox EV and the Hornet compete for the same spot on your shortlist, with Chevrolet and Dodge each making its case. The data points to two closely matched options rather than a clear favorite.
At a glance
- Space & Practicality Tie
- Off-road & Towing Tie
Design & Size
Dimensions
| Spec | Equinox EV | Hornet |
|---|---|---|
| Length | 190.6 in | N/A (not specified) |
| Wheelbase | 116.3 in | N/A (not specified) |
Engine & Performance
We don’t score this area directly, because the engine & performance specs are labels rather than measurements. The table shows what each lists.
Space & Practicality
Too close to call
There’s no meaningful winner in the space & practicality section; the two are too close to separate. Bottom line for space & practicality: it’s a wash.
Off-road & Towing
Too close to call
The Equinox EV and the Hornet match each other closely in this area. Net result on off-road & towing: level.
Safety & Tech
Here the spec sheet speaks in model names and types. Compare the Equinox EV and the Hornet row by row in the table below.
Full Specifications
Engine & Performance
| Spec | Equinox EV | Hornet |
|---|---|---|
| Powertrain | Battery electric | Gas |
| Engine | Single-motor electric | 2.0L turbo I4 |
| Total system output | N/A (not specified) | 268 hp |
| Torque | N/A (not specified) | 295 lb-ft |
| Transmission | Single-speed | 9-speed automatic |
| Drivetrain | FWD (AWD available) | AWD |
Fuel Economy & Range
| Spec | Equinox EV | Hornet |
|---|---|---|
| Fuel economy (combined)EPA estimate where available | N/A (not specified) | 24 mpg |
| Fuel economy (city) | N/A (not specified) | 21 mpg Thirstiest in the city |
| Fuel economy (highway) | N/A (not specified) | 29 mpg |
| Electric range | 319 mi | N/A (not specified) |
Space & Practicality
| Spec | Equinox EV | Hornet |
|---|---|---|
| Seats | 5 seats | 5 seats |
| Cargo (behind rear seats) | 26.4 cu ft | N/A (not specified) |
| Cargo (seats folded) | 57.2 cu ft | N/A (not specified) |
Off-road & Towing
| Spec | Equinox EV | Hornet |
|---|---|---|
| Max towing | N/A (not specified) | 2,000 lb |
| AWD / 4WD available | Yes | Yes |
Safety & Tech
| Spec | Equinox EV | Hornet |
|---|---|---|
| Largest touchscreen | 17.7 in Biggest touchscreen | N/A (not specified) |
| Apple CarPlay / Android Auto | No Apple CarPlay / Android Auto (Google built-in) | Wireless Apple CarPlay & Android Auto |
| Driver-assist suite | Chevy Safety Assist | N/A (not specified) |
| Basic warranty | 3 yr / 36,000 mi | 3 yr / 36,000 mi |
Dimensions
| Spec | Equinox EV | Hornet |
|---|---|---|
| Length | 190.6 in | N/A (not specified) |
| Wheelbase | 116.3 in | N/A (not specified) |
Price
| Spec | Equinox EV | Hornet |
|---|---|---|
| Starting MSRP | $33,600 | N/A (not specified) |
“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.
Which One Should You Buy?
Also Compared
Frequently Asked Questions
Which is better for most people, the Equinox EV or the Hornet?
There’s no single right answer. The Equinox EV leads on the things a spec sheet can’t capture and the Hornet on the things a spec sheet can’t capture.
Executive Summary
Brand loyalty aside, I tried to judge the Equinox EV and the Hornet purely on what they offer.
A quick self-test: do you care more about the things a spec sheet can’t capture or the things a spec sheet can’t capture? The first answer means the Equinox EV, the second means the Hornet.
My pick: it depends. Go for the Equinox EV if the things a spec sheet can’t capture comes first for you, or the Hornet if the things a spec sheet can’t capture does.
Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.





