MITSUBISHIOutlander
Mitsubishi Outlander 2026 · from $29,995 · Compact SUV
TOYOTARAV4 Plug-inHybrid
Toyota RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid 2026 · Compact SUV

Outlander vs RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid

The Outlander and the RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid land in the same compact suv category, so the comparison is fair, and the differences are telling. Think of these two as neighbors: the overlap is large and the gaps are few.

Summarize this comparison with AI:

At a glance

  • Engine & Performance RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid wins
  • Space & Practicality Outlander wins
  • Off-road & Towing Tie

Key Differences

  1. The RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid has 146 hp more power

    Not a close call. The RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid lists 320 hp and the Outlander lists 174 hp. That’s a substantial gap. Power is only part of the story; weight, gearing and torque delivery shape how quick a car feels.

  2. The Outlander has room for 7 seats

    Among all the differences on this page, 7 seats against 5 seats is one of the most meaningful, and it favors the Outlander. The Outlander has room for more passengers, useful for growing families and carpools.

Design & Size

Dimensions
Dimensions: Outlander vs RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid
SpecOutlanderRAV4 Plug-in Hybrid
Length 185.8 in N/A (not specified)
Height 68.8 in N/A (not specified)
Wheelbase 106.5 in N/A (not specified)

Engine & Performance

RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid leads

This is one of the RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid’s strongest areas. On engine & performance, the Outlander falls well short. The RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid steps ahead thanks to 146 hp more power. More power helps with merging, overtaking and climbing hills, especially with passengers and luggage on board. For anyone who cares most about engine & performance, the RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid is the safer choice.

Total system output

Outlander: 174 hp
RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid: 320 hp (winner)
OutlanderRAV4 Plug-in Hybrid

Total system output

Outlander: 174 hp RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid: 320 hp The RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid’s extra output gives it more in reserve when you need to get up to speed.

Space & Practicality

Outlander leads

The Outlander is the clear pick if space & practicality is what you care about most. The Outlander gives you room for 7 seats. Extra seats mean you can take more people along without taking a second car. Bottom line for space & practicality: the Outlander has the edge.

Seats

Outlander: 7 seats (winner)
RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid: 5 seats
OutlanderRAV4 Plug-in Hybrid

Seats

Outlander: 7 seats RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid: 5 seats Third-row seats are often best for kids, so check legroom figures if adults will sit there.

Off-road & Towing

Too close to call

There’s no meaningful winner in the off-road & towing section; the two are too close to separate. Neither car gives you a reason to choose it on off-road & towing.

Safety & Tech

For safety & tech, the differences are in the specifics (component names and types), so the table is the place to look.

Full Specifications

Engine & Performance
Engine & Performance: Outlander vs RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid
SpecOutlanderRAV4 Plug-in Hybrid
Powertrain Gas (48V mild hybrid) Plug-in hybrid
Engine 1.5L turbo I4 mild hybrid 2.5L I4 plug-in hybrid
Total system output 174 hp 320 hp (winner)
Torque 206 lb-ft N/A (not specified)
Transmission CVT eCVT
Drivetrain FWD (S-AWC AWD available) AWD
Fuel Economy & Range
Fuel Economy & Range: Outlander vs RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid
SpecOutlanderRAV4 Plug-in Hybrid
Fuel economy (combined)EPA estimate where available 28 mpg N/A (not specified)
Fuel economy (city) 26 mpg N/A (not specified)
Fuel economy (highway) 31 mpg N/A (not specified)
Electric range N/A (not specified) 50 mi
Fuel tank 14.5 gal N/A (not specified)
Space & Practicality
Space & Practicality: Outlander vs RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid
SpecOutlanderRAV4 Plug-in Hybrid
Seats 7 seats (winner) 5 seats
Cargo (behind rear seats) 10.9 cu ft Smallest cargo area N/A (not specified)
Cargo (seats folded) 64.3 cu ft N/A (not specified)
Off-road & Towing
Off-road & Towing: Outlander vs RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid
SpecOutlanderRAV4 Plug-in Hybrid
Max towing 2,000 lb N/A (not specified)
AWD / 4WD available Yes Yes
Safety & Tech
Safety & Tech: Outlander vs RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid
SpecOutlanderRAV4 Plug-in Hybrid
Largest touchscreen 12.3 in N/A (not specified)
Basic warranty 5 yr / 60,000 mi 3 yr / 36,000 mi
Dimensions
Dimensions: Outlander vs RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid
SpecOutlanderRAV4 Plug-in Hybrid
Length 185.8 in N/A (not specified)
Height 68.8 in N/A (not specified)
Wheelbase 106.5 in N/A (not specified)
Price
Price: Outlander vs RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid
SpecOutlanderRAV4 Plug-in Hybrid
Starting MSRP $29,995 Lowest price in class N/A (not specified)

“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.

Which One Should You Buy?

Choose the Outlander if…

  • you regularly carry extra passengers (7 seats vs 5 seats)
  • you’re comfortable with how Mitsubishi does things
Outlander specs & rivals

Choose the RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid if…

  • you merge, overtake or climb hills with a full load (320 hp vs 174 hp)
  • you trust Toyota and want to keep things familiar
RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid specs & rivals

Also Compared

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is better for most people, the Outlander or the RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid?

The Outlander and the RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid split the comparison (space & practicality for the Outlander, engine & performance for the RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid), so pick the strength you’ll use.

Executive Summary

Founder & Editor

Let me cut through the brand noise around the Outlander and the RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid. The Outlander has room for 7 seats, and for most people that’s not a small thing. Still, if you care most about 146 hp more power, the RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid deserves a look.

The Outlander is for you if space & practicality tops your list; the RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid is for you if engine & performance does.

My pick: the Outlander for space & practicality, the RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid for engine & performance, and no wrong answer between them.

Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.

Independent comparison, not affiliated with Mitsubishi or Toyota. Specs from manufacturer data as compiled by VersusVerdict. · Last updated: · Spotted an error? Report a correction

Summarize this comparison with AI: