Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra front view
Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra 2024 · from $1,300 · Flagship Smartphone
Photo: TGspot.co.il - (Galaxy S24 Ultra Review) via Wikimedia Commons / CC BY-SA 4.0
Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra front view
Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra 2026 · from $1,300 · Flagship Smartphone
Photo: เวียร์ via Wikimedia Commons / CC BY 4.0

Galaxy S24 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra

The shared Samsung logo is where the obvious similarity ends. The Galaxy S24 Ultra and the Galaxy S26 Ultra come from different lines, and each line has its own idea of what matters. The gap between the Galaxy S24 Ultra and the Galaxy S26 Ultra is narrow enough that price, looks or habit could reasonably tip it. Below, you’ll find every meaningful difference and what it means in daily use.

Summarize this comparison with AI:

At a glance

  • Display Tie
  • Performance Tie
  • Memory & Storage Tie
  • Camera Tie
  • Battery & Charging Galaxy S26 Ultra wins
  • Software & Updates Tie
  • Price Tie
Galaxy S24 Ultra spec score: 6.0 out of 106.0
Galaxy S24 Ultra Spec score
  • Memory & Storage4.5
  • Camera10.0
  • Battery & Charging3.1
Galaxy S26 Ultra spec score: 6.3 out of 106.3
Galaxy S26 Ultra Spec score
  • Memory & Storage4.5
  • Camera10.0
  • Battery & Charging3.7
Spec scores by area: Memory & Storage: Galaxy S24 Ultra 4.5, Galaxy S26 Ultra 4.5; Camera: Galaxy S24 Ultra 10.0, Galaxy S26 Ultra 10.0; Battery & Charging: Galaxy S24 Ultra 3.1, Galaxy S26 Ultra 3.7Memory & StorageCameraBattery & Charging

Spec scores (0 to 10) are calculated from manufacturer specs against other models in the same class. See how the formula works. They are not reviews or user ratings.

Key Differences

  1. The Galaxy S26 Ultra has faster 60 W wired charging

    When it comes to wired charging, the Galaxy S26 Ultra wins comfortably with 60 W against 45 W. Peak charging speeds depend on a compatible charger, which may not come in the box.

Design & Size

On overall dimensions, the Galaxy S24 Ultra and the Galaxy S26 Ultra are separated by very little.

Design & Build
Design & Build: Galaxy S24 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S24 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra
Height 6.39 in N/A (not specified)
Width 3.11 in N/A (not specified)
Thickness 0.34 in N/A (not specified)
Weight 8.18 oz N/A (not specified)
Water & dust rating IP68 IP68
Frame Titanium N/A (not specified)

Display

Too close to call

This area ends level; whatever separates these two, it isn’t display. Bottom line for display: it’s a wash.

Screen size

Galaxy S24 Ultra: 6.8 in
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 6.9 in
Galaxy S24 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra

Performance

Too close to call

You can skip ahead if performance was your deciding factor: the two are evenly matched here. So performance is a non-factor here; move on to the areas where they actually differ.

RAM

Galaxy S24 Ultra: 12 GB
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 12 GB
Galaxy S24 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra

Memory & Storage

Too close to call

Swap one for the other and you’d lose nothing on memory & storage. Treat memory & storage as common ground and look elsewhere for the deciding factor.

Base storage

Galaxy S24 Ultra: 256 GB
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 256 GB

Max storage

Galaxy S24 Ultra: 1 TB
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 1 TB
Galaxy S24 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra

Camera

Too close to call

Evenly matched is the fairest summary of the camera section. Don’t let camera decide this one; look at the other sections instead.

Main camera

Galaxy S24 Ultra: 200 MP
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 200 MP

Rear cameras

Galaxy S24 Ultra: 4
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 4
Galaxy S24 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra

Battery & Charging

Galaxy S26 Ultra leads

The Galaxy S26 Ultra dominates the battery & charging section, and the gaps are large enough to matter in daily use. The Galaxy S26 Ultra brings faster 60 W wired charging. The Galaxy S26 Ultra refills faster on a cable, which matters most on the mornings you forgot to charge overnight. If this section decides it for you, choose the Galaxy S26 Ultra.

Battery capacity

Galaxy S24 Ultra: 5,000 mAh
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 5,000 mAh

Wired charging

Galaxy S24 Ultra: 45 W
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 60 W (winner)
Galaxy S24 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra

Wired charging

Galaxy S24 Ultra: 45 W Galaxy S26 Ultra: 60 W Faster wired charging means a short top-up before you head out goes further.

Software & Updates

Too close to call

The Galaxy S24 Ultra and the Galaxy S26 Ultra match each other closely in this area. In short, software & updates is a draw; the decision lies elsewhere.

Promised OS updates

Galaxy S24 Ultra: 7 years
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 7 years
Galaxy S24 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra

Full Specifications

Display
Display: Galaxy S24 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S24 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra
Screen size 6.8 in 6.9 in
Panel type Dynamic AMOLED 2X Dynamic AMOLED 2X
Resolution 3120 x 1440 3120 x 1440
Pixel density 505 ppi N/A (not specified)
Refresh rate 120 Hz N/A (not specified)
Peak brightness 2,600 nits N/A (not specified)
Always-on display Yes Yes
Performance
Performance: Galaxy S24 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S24 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra
Chipset Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 for Galaxy Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy
CPU cores 8 N/A (not specified)
Process node 4 nm N/A (not specified)
RAM 12 GB 12 GB
Memory & Storage
Memory & Storage: Galaxy S24 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S24 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra
Base storage 256 GB 256 GB
Max storage 1 TB 1 TB
microSD slot No No
Camera
Camera: Galaxy S24 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S24 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra
Main camera 200 MP 200 MP
Ultra-wide camera 12 MP N/A (not specified)
Telephoto camera 50 MP N/A (not specified)
Optical zoom 5× N/A (not specified)
Rear cameras 4 4
Front camera 12 MP N/A (not specified)
Max video 8K30 N/A (not specified)
Battery & Charging
Battery & Charging: Galaxy S24 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S24 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra
Battery capacity 5,000 mAh 5,000 mAh
Wired charging 45 W 60 W (winner)
Wireless charging 15 W N/A (not specified)
Port USB-C USB-C
Software & Updates
Software & Updates: Galaxy S24 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S24 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra
OS at launch Android 14 (One UI 6.1) Android 16 (One UI 8.5)
Promised OS updatesManufacturer commitment 7 years 7 years
Design & Build
Design & Build: Galaxy S24 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S24 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra
Height 6.39 in N/A (not specified)
Width 3.11 in N/A (not specified)
Thickness 0.34 in N/A (not specified)
Weight 8.18 oz N/A (not specified)
Water & dust rating IP68 IP68
Frame Titanium N/A (not specified)
Price
Price: Galaxy S24 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S24 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra
Launch price $1,300 $1,300

“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.

Price & Value

Galaxy S24 Ultra $1,300 US launch MSRP, 256 GB
Galaxy S26 Ultra $1,300 US launch MSRP, 256 GB

Equal launch prices put the focus squarely on the spec sheet.

Launch prices in the US as of February 2026; street prices move, so check before you buy.

Which One Should You Buy?

Choose the Galaxy S24 Ultra if…

  • you don’t care much about the upgrades in the newer model
Galaxy S24 Ultra specs & rivals

Choose the Galaxy S26 Ultra if…

  • you often need a quick top-up before heading out (60 W vs 45 W wired)
  • you’d rather start with the later of the two generations
Galaxy S26 Ultra specs & rivals

Also Compared

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is better for most people, the Galaxy S24 Ultra or the Galaxy S26 Ultra?

On the specs compared here, the Galaxy S26 Ultra makes more sense for most buyers; the Galaxy S24 Ultra doesn’t win a single measurable area.

Is the Galaxy S26 Ultra worth it over the Galaxy S24 Ultra?

Think about how you use your Galaxy S24 Ultra. If faster 60 W wired charging would make a real difference, the Galaxy S26 Ultra is worth it; if not, keep what you have.

Which has better battery life, the Galaxy S24 Ultra or the Galaxy S26 Ultra?

The official battery figures don’t separate them; the Galaxy S24 Ultra and the Galaxy S26 Ultra land in almost the same place.

Which is larger, the Galaxy S24 Ultra or the Galaxy S26 Ultra?

They’re practically the same size. The difference between the Galaxy S24 Ultra and the Galaxy S26 Ultra is too small to matter.

Executive Summary

Founder & Editor

I’ll admit the Galaxy S24 Ultra versus the Galaxy S26 Ultra is the kind of question I enjoy: same maker, same family, and still a real choice to make. I’d put faster 60 W wired charging at the top of the list, and it belongs to the Galaxy S26 Ultra.

Put simply, the Galaxy S24 Ultra suits people who care about the things a spec sheet can’t capture, while the Galaxy S26 Ultra suits people who put battery & charging first.

My pick: the Galaxy S26 Ultra.

Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.

Independent comparison, not affiliated with Samsung. Specs from manufacturer data as compiled by VersusVerdict. · Last updated: · Spotted an error? Report a correction

Summarize this comparison with AI: