Samsung Galaxy S25 Ultra front view
Samsung Galaxy S25 Ultra 2025 · from $1,300 · Flagship Smartphone
Photo: Jakub CA via Wikimedia Commons / CC BY 4.0
Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra front view
Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra 2026 · from $1,300 · Flagship Smartphone
Photo: เวียร์ via Wikimedia Commons / CC BY 4.0

Galaxy S25 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra: Is the Upgrade Worth It?

A direct successor invites a direct comparison, and that’s what the Galaxy S26 Ultra and the Galaxy S25 Ultra get here, spec by spec. The honest headline: the Galaxy S25 Ultra and the Galaxy S26 Ultra are evenly matched in most of the areas we compared. So which one fits you better? The breakdown below should make that clearer.

Summarize this comparison with AI:

At a glance

  • Display Tie
  • Performance Tie
  • Memory & Storage Tie
  • Camera Tie
  • Battery & Charging Galaxy S26 Ultra wins
  • Software & Updates Tie
  • Price Tie
Galaxy S25 Ultra spec score: 6.0 out of 106.0
Galaxy S25 Ultra Spec score
  • Memory & Storage4.5
  • Camera10.0
  • Battery & Charging3.1
Galaxy S26 Ultra spec score: 6.3 out of 106.3
Galaxy S26 Ultra Spec score
  • Memory & Storage4.5
  • Camera10.0
  • Battery & Charging3.7
Spec scores by area: Memory & Storage: Galaxy S25 Ultra 4.5, Galaxy S26 Ultra 4.5; Camera: Galaxy S25 Ultra 10.0, Galaxy S26 Ultra 10.0; Battery & Charging: Galaxy S25 Ultra 3.1, Galaxy S26 Ultra 3.7Memory & StorageCameraBattery & Charging

Spec scores (0 to 10) are calculated from manufacturer specs against other models in the same class. See how the formula works. They are not reviews or user ratings.

Key Differences

  1. The Galaxy S26 Ultra has faster 60 W wired charging

    Of all the specs we compared, this is one where the Galaxy S26 Ultra makes its strongest case: 60 W against 45 W. Peak charging speeds depend on a compatible charger, which may not come in the box.

Design & Size

Expect the same physical presence from both; their dimensions are very close.

Design & Build
Design & Build: Galaxy S25 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S25 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra
Height 6.41 in N/A (not specified)
Width 3.06 in N/A (not specified)
Thickness 0.32 in N/A (not specified)
Weight 7.69 oz N/A (not specified)
Water & dust rating IP68 IP68
Frame Titanium N/A (not specified)

Display

Too close to call

Side by side, the display figures for the Galaxy S25 Ultra and the Galaxy S26 Ultra barely differ. In short, display is a draw; the decision lies elsewhere.

Screen size

Galaxy S25 Ultra: 6.9 in
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 6.9 in
Galaxy S25 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra

Performance

Too close to call

The Galaxy S25 Ultra and the Galaxy S26 Ultra match each other closely in this area. Bottom line for performance: it’s a wash.

RAM

Galaxy S25 Ultra: 12 GB
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 12 GB
Galaxy S25 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra

Memory & Storage

Too close to call

You can skip ahead if memory & storage was your deciding factor: the two are evenly matched here. The memory & storage verdict: no winner, and no reason to worry either way.

Base storage

Galaxy S25 Ultra: 256 GB
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 256 GB

Max storage

Galaxy S25 Ultra: 1 TB
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 1 TB
Galaxy S25 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra

Camera

Too close to call

Evenly matched is the fairest summary of the camera section. On camera alone, you can’t go far wrong with either.

Main camera

Galaxy S25 Ultra: 200 MP
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 200 MP

Rear cameras

Galaxy S25 Ultra: 4
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 4
Galaxy S25 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra

Battery & Charging

Galaxy S26 Ultra leads

This section belongs to the Galaxy S26 Ultra. In battery & charging, it leads the Galaxy S25 Ultra by a margin that’s hard to ignore. The Galaxy S26 Ultra comes with faster 60 W wired charging. The Galaxy S26 Ultra refills faster on a cable, which matters most on the mornings you forgot to charge overnight. Prioritize battery & charging, and the Galaxy S26 Ultra is where you should land.

Battery capacity

Galaxy S25 Ultra: 5,000 mAh
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 5,000 mAh

Wired charging

Galaxy S25 Ultra: 45 W
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 60 W (winner)
Galaxy S25 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra

Wired charging

Galaxy S25 Ultra: 45 W Galaxy S26 Ultra: 60 W Faster wired charging means a short top-up before you head out goes further.

Software & Updates

Too close to call

This is a tie in all but name. On software & updates, both deliver about the same. This section won’t settle the choice, so weigh the other areas more heavily.

Promised OS updates

Galaxy S25 Ultra: 7 years
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 7 years
Galaxy S25 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra

Full Specifications

Display
Display: Galaxy S25 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S25 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra
Screen size 6.9 in 6.9 in
Panel type Dynamic AMOLED 2X Dynamic AMOLED 2X
Resolution 3120 x 1440 3120 x 1440
Pixel density 498 ppi N/A (not specified)
Refresh rate 120 Hz N/A (not specified)
Peak brightness 2,600 nits N/A (not specified)
Always-on display Yes Yes
Performance
Performance: Galaxy S25 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S25 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra
Chipset Snapdragon 8 Elite for Galaxy Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy
CPU cores 8 N/A (not specified)
Process node 3 nm N/A (not specified)
RAM 12 GB 12 GB
Memory & Storage
Memory & Storage: Galaxy S25 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S25 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra
Base storage 256 GB 256 GB
Max storage 1 TB 1 TB
microSD slot No No
Camera
Camera: Galaxy S25 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S25 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra
Main camera 200 MP 200 MP
Ultra-wide camera 50 MP N/A (not specified)
Telephoto camera 50 MP N/A (not specified)
Optical zoom 5× N/A (not specified)
Rear cameras 4 4
Front camera 12 MP N/A (not specified)
Max video 8K30 N/A (not specified)
Battery & Charging
Battery & Charging: Galaxy S25 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S25 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra
Battery capacity 5,000 mAh 5,000 mAh
Wired charging 45 W 60 W (winner)
Wireless charging 15 W N/A (not specified)
Port USB-C USB-C
Software & Updates
Software & Updates: Galaxy S25 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S25 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra
OS at launch Android 15 (One UI 7) Android 16 (One UI 8.5)
Promised OS updatesManufacturer commitment 7 years 7 years
Design & Build
Design & Build: Galaxy S25 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S25 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra
Height 6.41 in N/A (not specified)
Width 3.06 in N/A (not specified)
Thickness 0.32 in N/A (not specified)
Weight 7.69 oz N/A (not specified)
Water & dust rating IP68 IP68
Frame Titanium N/A (not specified)
Price
Price: Galaxy S25 Ultra vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S25 UltraGalaxy S26 Ultra
Launch price $1,300 $1,300

“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.

Price & Value

Galaxy S25 Ultra $1,300 US launch MSRP, 256 GB
Galaxy S26 Ultra $1,300 US launch MSRP, 256 GB

Money won’t decide this one: the Galaxy S25 Ultra and the Galaxy S26 Ultra launched at identical prices.

These are US launch prices, recorded February 2026; what you pay today may be higher or lower.

Which One Should You Buy?

Choose the Galaxy S25 Ultra if…

  • you rarely use the areas where the newer model improves
Galaxy S25 Ultra specs & rivals

Choose the Galaxy S26 Ultra if…

  • you often need a quick top-up before heading out (60 W vs 45 W wired)
  • you want the changes the Galaxy S26 Ultra brings over its predecessor
Galaxy S26 Ultra specs & rivals

Also Compared

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is better for most people, the Galaxy S25 Ultra or the Galaxy S26 Ultra?

We’d point most buyers to the Galaxy S26 Ultra. The main exception is if you’re on the Galaxy S25 Ultra and nothing about it bothers you.

Should I upgrade from the Galaxy S25 Ultra to the Galaxy S26 Ultra?

It depends on what you need. The Galaxy S26 Ultra brings faster 60 W wired charging, but if your Galaxy S25 Ultra still does the job, there’s no urgency.

Does the Galaxy S25 Ultra last longer on a charge than the Galaxy S26 Ultra?

It’s effectively a tie. The battery figures for the Galaxy S25 Ultra and the Galaxy S26 Ultra are too close to call.

Is the Galaxy S25 Ultra bigger than the Galaxy S26 Ultra?

Size is essentially a tie. The official dimensions of the Galaxy S25 Ultra and the Galaxy S26 Ultra differ only marginally.

Executive Summary

Founder & Editor

Old versus new: the Galaxy S25 Ultra against its replacement, the Galaxy S26 Ultra. Here’s my read. I’d put faster 60 W wired charging at the top of the list, and it belongs to the Galaxy S26 Ultra.

Put simply, the Galaxy S25 Ultra suits people who care about the things a spec sheet can’t capture, while the Galaxy S26 Ultra suits people who put battery & charging first.

My pick: the Galaxy S26 Ultra for new buyers, while owners of the Galaxy S25 Ultra can probably sit this generation out.

Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.

Independent comparison, not affiliated with Samsung. Specs from manufacturer data as compiled by VersusVerdict. · Last updated: · Spotted an error? Report a correction

Summarize this comparison with AI: