APPLEiPhone 18 Pro Max
Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max 2026 · from $1,299 · Flagship Smartphone
Samsung Galaxy S26+ front view
Samsung Galaxy S26+ 2026 · Flagship Smartphone
Photo: 茅野ふたば via Wikimedia Commons / CC BY-SA 4.0

iPhone 18 Pro Max vs Galaxy S26+

Different logos, same mission. The iPhone 18 Pro Max and the Galaxy S26+ both want to be your next phone. If you were hoping for a knockout, this isn’t it. The iPhone 18 Pro Max and the Galaxy S26+ stay within reach of each other almost everywhere.

Summarize this comparison with AI:

At a glance

  • Display Tie
  • Memory & Storage Tie
  • Camera Tie

Design & Size

Size is a trade-off, not a score: the iPhone 18 Pro Max is larger, the Galaxy S26+ more compact.

Design & Build
Design & Build: iPhone 18 Pro Max vs Galaxy S26+
SpeciPhone 18 Pro MaxGalaxy S26+
Height 6.43 in N/A (not specified)
Width 3.07 in N/A (not specified)
Thickness 0.34 in N/A (not specified)
Weight 8.78 oz Heaviest in class N/A (not specified)
Water & dust rating IP68 IP68
Frame Aluminum N/A (not specified)

Display

Too close to call

This area ends level; whatever separates these two, it isn’t display. Bottom line for display: it’s a wash.

Screen size

iPhone 18 Pro Max: 6.9 in
Galaxy S26+: 6.7 in
iPhone 18 Pro MaxGalaxy S26+

Performance

The performance entries below are descriptive rather than numeric. Read them side by side to see where the iPhone 18 Pro Max and the Galaxy S26+ part ways.

Memory & Storage

Too close to call

Side by side, the memory & storage figures for the iPhone 18 Pro Max and the Galaxy S26+ barely differ. On memory & storage alone, you can’t go far wrong with either.

Base storage

iPhone 18 Pro Max: 256 GB
Galaxy S26+: 256 GB
iPhone 18 Pro MaxGalaxy S26+

Camera

Too close to call

Call the camera round a draw. This section won’t settle the choice, so weigh the other areas more heavily.

Main camera

iPhone 18 Pro Max: 48 MP
Galaxy S26+: 50 MP
iPhone 18 Pro MaxGalaxy S26+

Battery & Charging

This area doesn’t reduce to a single number. The table shows the battery & charging details for both, so you can judge what matters to you.

Software & Updates

In the software & updates section, the key entries are names rather than numbers, so compare what the iPhone 18 Pro Max and the Galaxy S26+ list in the table below.

Full Specifications

Display
Display: iPhone 18 Pro Max vs Galaxy S26+
SpeciPhone 18 Pro MaxGalaxy S26+
Screen size 6.9 in 6.7 in
Panel type OLED, ProMotion 120 Hz (Super Retina XDR) Dynamic AMOLED 2X
Resolution 2868 x 1320 N/A (not specified)
Pixel density 460 ppi N/A (not specified)
Refresh rate 120 Hz N/A (not specified)
Peak brightness 3,000 nits N/A (not specified)
Always-on display Yes Yes
Performance
Performance: iPhone 18 Pro Max vs Galaxy S26+
SpeciPhone 18 Pro MaxGalaxy S26+
Chipset A20 Pro Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy (US)
CPU cores 6 N/A (not specified)
Process node 2 nm N/A (not specified)
RAM N/A (not specified) 12 GB
Memory & Storage
Memory & Storage: iPhone 18 Pro Max vs Galaxy S26+
SpeciPhone 18 Pro MaxGalaxy S26+
Base storage 256 GB 256 GB
Max storage 2 TB N/A (not specified)
microSD slot No No
Camera
Camera: iPhone 18 Pro Max vs Galaxy S26+
SpeciPhone 18 Pro MaxGalaxy S26+
Main camera 48 MP 50 MP
Ultra-wide camera 48 MP N/A (not specified)
Telephoto camera 48 MP N/A (not specified)
Optical zoom 4× N/A (not specified)
Rear cameras 3 N/A (not specified)
Front camera 18 MP N/A (not specified)
Max video 4K120 Dolby Vision N/A (not specified)
Battery & Charging
Battery & Charging: iPhone 18 Pro Max vs Galaxy S26+
SpeciPhone 18 Pro MaxGalaxy S26+
Battery capacity N/A (not specified) 4,900 mAh
Rated video playbackManufacturer rating 45 h Longest rated playback N/A (not specified)
Wireless charging 25 W N/A (not specified)
Port USB-C (USB 3, 10 Gb/s) USB-C
Software & Updates
Software & Updates: iPhone 18 Pro Max vs Galaxy S26+
SpeciPhone 18 Pro MaxGalaxy S26+
OS at launch iOS 27 Android 16 (One UI 8.5)
Promised OS updatesManufacturer commitment N/A (not specified) 7 years
Design & Build
Design & Build: iPhone 18 Pro Max vs Galaxy S26+
SpeciPhone 18 Pro MaxGalaxy S26+
Height 6.43 in N/A (not specified)
Width 3.07 in N/A (not specified)
Thickness 0.34 in N/A (not specified)
Weight 8.78 oz Heaviest in class N/A (not specified)
Water & dust rating IP68 IP68
Frame Aluminum N/A (not specified)
Price
Price: iPhone 18 Pro Max vs Galaxy S26+
SpeciPhone 18 Pro MaxGalaxy S26+
Launch price $1,299 N/A (not specified)

“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.

Which One Should You Buy?

Choose the iPhone 18 Pro Max if…

  • you want the bigger phone
  • you already use other Apple products
iPhone 18 Pro Max specs & rivals

Choose the Galaxy S26+ if…

  • you value compactness over sheer size
  • you’re comfortable with how Samsung does things
Galaxy S26+ specs & rivals

Also Compared

Frequently Asked Questions

Should I buy the iPhone 18 Pro Max or the Galaxy S26+?

There’s no single right answer. The iPhone 18 Pro Max leads on the things a spec sheet can’t capture and the Galaxy S26+ on the things a spec sheet can’t capture.

Which is larger, the iPhone 18 Pro Max or the Galaxy S26+?

The larger model here is the iPhone 18 Pro Max (6.43 × 3.07 × 0.34 in); the Galaxy S26+ is more compact at 6.7 in.

Does the iPhone 18 Pro Max perform better than the Galaxy S26+?

It comes down to the chips: A20 Pro in the iPhone 18 Pro Max versus Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy (US) in the Galaxy S26+. Our spec data lists them by name rather than by a single score.

Executive Summary

Founder & Editor

Apple makes the iPhone 18 Pro Max, Samsung makes the Galaxy S26+, and both want the same spot on your shortlist. Here’s where I land.

For the things a spec sheet can’t capture, the iPhone 18 Pro Max fits better. For the things a spec sheet can’t capture, the Galaxy S26+ is the better match.

My pick: I’d go with the iPhone 18 Pro Max if I cared most about the things a spec sheet can’t capture, and the Galaxy S26+ if the things a spec sheet can’t capture mattered more.

Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.

Independent comparison, not affiliated with Apple or Samsung. Specs from manufacturer data as compiled by VersusVerdict. · Last updated: · Spotted an error? Report a correction

Summarize this comparison with AI: