Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra front view
Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra 2026 · from $1,300 · Flagship Smartphone
Photo: เวียร์ via Wikimedia Commons / CC BY 4.0
APPLEiPhone 18 Pro Max
Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max 2026 · from $1,299 · Flagship Smartphone

Galaxy S26 Ultra vs iPhone 18 Pro Max

It’s Samsung against Apple in the flagship smartphone class, and the Galaxy S26 Ultra and the iPhone 18 Pro Max are the models carrying each flag. The Galaxy S26 Ultra has the edge in 1 of the 3 areas we looked at, most visibly in the camera category.

Summarize this comparison with AI:

At a glance

  • Display Tie
  • Memory & Storage iPhone 18 Pro Max wins
  • Camera Galaxy S26 Ultra wins
  • Price iPhone 18 Pro Max wins
Galaxy S26 Ultra Spec score by area
  • Memory & Storage4.5
  • Camera10.0
iPhone 18 Pro Max Spec score by area
  • Memory & Storage6.4
  • Camera3.5

Spec scores (0 to 10) are calculated from manufacturer specs against other models in the same class. See how the formula works. They are not reviews or user ratings.

Key Differences

  1. The Galaxy S26 Ultra has a higher-resolution 200 MP main camera

    Big gap, real consequences. The Galaxy S26 Ultra’s 200 MP versus the iPhone 18 Pro Max’s 48 MP changes how the two compare in daily use. More megapixels on the main camera allow bigger crops and more detail in good light, but sensor size and processing matter just as much.

  2. The Galaxy S26 Ultra has an extra rear camera

    The iPhone 18 Pro Max is clearly behind on rear cameras (3 against 4), and that’s one of its biggest weak spots in this matchup. The count alone doesn’t guarantee quality, but the Galaxy S26 Ultra gives you more lenses to choose from.

  3. The iPhone 18 Pro Max has a bigger top storage option

    On this line of the spec sheet, the iPhone 18 Pro Max is in a different league: 2 TB, next to 1 TB for the Galaxy S26 Ultra. Most buyers are fine with a base or middle tier, so this is a niche advantage, but a real one if you need it.

Design & Size

Their dimensions are close enough that size should be one of the last things you weigh.

Design & Build
Design & Build: Galaxy S26 Ultra vs iPhone 18 Pro Max
SpecGalaxy S26 UltraiPhone 18 Pro Max
Height N/A (not specified) 6.43 in
Width N/A (not specified) 3.07 in
Thickness N/A (not specified) 0.34 in
Weight N/A (not specified) 8.78 oz Heaviest in class
Water & dust rating IP68 IP68
Frame N/A (not specified) Aluminum

Display

Too close to call

The differences on display are small enough to ignore in daily use. This section won’t settle the choice, so weigh the other areas more heavily.

Screen size

Galaxy S26 Ultra: 6.9 in
iPhone 18 Pro Max: 6.9 in
Galaxy S26 UltraiPhone 18 Pro Max

Performance

There isn’t a number to compare on performance, just names. Look at the rows below to see how the Galaxy S26 Ultra and the iPhone 18 Pro Max differ.

Memory & Storage

iPhone 18 Pro Max leads

Call it a small but real win for the iPhone 18 Pro Max in this area. The iPhone 18 Pro Max stands out with a bigger top storage option. Heavy video shooters and people with large offline libraries benefit from the iPhone 18 Pro Max’s bigger maximum. For memory & storage, the iPhone 18 Pro Max is the one to beat.

Base storage

Galaxy S26 Ultra: 256 GB
iPhone 18 Pro Max: 256 GB

Max storage

Galaxy S26 Ultra: 1 TB
iPhone 18 Pro Max: 2 TB (winner)
Galaxy S26 UltraiPhone 18 Pro Max

Max storage

Galaxy S26 Ultra: 1 TB iPhone 18 Pro Max: 2 TB The top storage option only matters if you plan to buy a high-capacity version, but it caps how much you can ever keep on the phone.

Camera

Galaxy S26 Ultra leads

If camera is high on your list, the Galaxy S26 Ultra makes the stronger case by a wide margin. The Galaxy S26 Ultra scores with a higher-resolution 200 MP main camera. The Galaxy S26 Ultra’s higher-resolution main sensor gives you more room to crop, which helps when you can’t get closer. That makes the Galaxy S26 Ultra the natural choice for buyers focused on camera.

Main camera

Galaxy S26 Ultra: 200 MP (winner)
iPhone 18 Pro Max: 48 MP

Rear cameras

Galaxy S26 Ultra: 4 (winner)
iPhone 18 Pro Max: 3
Galaxy S26 UltraiPhone 18 Pro Max

Main camera

Galaxy S26 Ultra: 200 MP iPhone 18 Pro Max: 48 MP Megapixels are only one part of image quality, so treat this as a sign of detail potential, not a verdict on photos.

Rear cameras

Galaxy S26 Ultra: 4 iPhone 18 Pro Max: 3 More cameras help most when each covers a different view, so check the table to see what the Galaxy S26 Ultra’s extra lens adds.

Battery & Charging

The Galaxy S26 Ultra and the iPhone 18 Pro Max differ on battery & charging in ways that are described rather than measured. The table has the details.

Software & Updates

In the software & updates section, the key entries are names rather than numbers, so compare what the Galaxy S26 Ultra and the iPhone 18 Pro Max list in the table below.

Full Specifications

Display
Display: Galaxy S26 Ultra vs iPhone 18 Pro Max
SpecGalaxy S26 UltraiPhone 18 Pro Max
Screen size 6.9 in 6.9 in
Panel type Dynamic AMOLED 2X OLED, ProMotion 120 Hz (Super Retina XDR)
Resolution 3120 x 1440 2868 x 1320
Pixel density N/A (not specified) 460 ppi
Refresh rate N/A (not specified) 120 Hz
Peak brightness N/A (not specified) 3,000 nits
Always-on display Yes Yes
Performance
Performance: Galaxy S26 Ultra vs iPhone 18 Pro Max
SpecGalaxy S26 UltraiPhone 18 Pro Max
Chipset Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy A20 Pro
CPU cores N/A (not specified) 6
Process node N/A (not specified) 2 nm
RAM 12 GB N/A (not specified)
Memory & Storage
Memory & Storage: Galaxy S26 Ultra vs iPhone 18 Pro Max
SpecGalaxy S26 UltraiPhone 18 Pro Max
Base storage 256 GB 256 GB
Max storage 1 TB 2 TB (winner)
microSD slot No No
Camera
Camera: Galaxy S26 Ultra vs iPhone 18 Pro Max
SpecGalaxy S26 UltraiPhone 18 Pro Max
Main camera 200 MP (winner) 48 MP
Ultra-wide camera N/A (not specified) 48 MP
Telephoto camera N/A (not specified) 48 MP
Optical zoom N/A (not specified) 4×
Rear cameras 4 (winner) 3
Front camera N/A (not specified) 18 MP
Max video N/A (not specified) 4K120 Dolby Vision
Battery & Charging
Battery & Charging: Galaxy S26 Ultra vs iPhone 18 Pro Max
SpecGalaxy S26 UltraiPhone 18 Pro Max
Battery capacity 5,000 mAh N/A (not specified)
Rated video playbackManufacturer rating N/A (not specified) 45 h Longest rated playback
Wired charging 60 W N/A (not specified)
Wireless charging N/A (not specified) 25 W
Port USB-C USB-C (USB 3, 10 Gb/s)
Software & Updates
Software & Updates: Galaxy S26 Ultra vs iPhone 18 Pro Max
SpecGalaxy S26 UltraiPhone 18 Pro Max
OS at launch Android 16 (One UI 8.5) iOS 27
Promised OS updatesManufacturer commitment 7 years N/A (not specified)
Design & Build
Design & Build: Galaxy S26 Ultra vs iPhone 18 Pro Max
SpecGalaxy S26 UltraiPhone 18 Pro Max
Height N/A (not specified) 6.43 in
Width N/A (not specified) 3.07 in
Thickness N/A (not specified) 0.34 in
Weight N/A (not specified) 8.78 oz Heaviest in class
Water & dust rating IP68 IP68
Frame N/A (not specified) Aluminum
Price
Price: Galaxy S26 Ultra vs iPhone 18 Pro Max
SpecGalaxy S26 UltraiPhone 18 Pro Max
Launch price $1,300 $1,299

“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.

Price & Value

Galaxy S26 Ultra $1,300 US launch MSRP, 256 GB
iPhone 18 Pro Max $1,299 US launch MSRP, 256 GB

Price barely moves the needle here: the Galaxy S26 Ultra launched $1 higher. The Galaxy S26 Ultra’s premium of $1 isn’t just for the name; it brings a higher-resolution 200 MP main camera and an extra rear camera.

Launch prices (US) as of September 2026. Discounts and bundles come and go, so compare current prices before buying.

Which One Should You Buy?

Choose the Galaxy S26 Ultra if…

  • you like to crop into your photos (200 MP vs 48 MP main camera)
  • you want more lenses to choose from (4 vs 3 rear cameras)
  • you’re comfortable with how Samsung does things
Galaxy S26 Ultra specs & rivals

Choose the iPhone 18 Pro Max if…

  • you need as much on-device space as you can get (2 TB vs 1 TB top option)
  • you want the lower price and can live with the trade-offs ($1 less)
  • you trust Apple and want to keep things familiar
iPhone 18 Pro Max specs & rivals

Also Compared

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is better for most people, the Galaxy S26 Ultra or the iPhone 18 Pro Max?

We’d point most buyers to the Galaxy S26 Ultra. The main exception is if you care more about a bigger top storage option than anything else.

Which is larger, the Galaxy S26 Ultra or the iPhone 18 Pro Max?

Size is essentially a tie. The official dimensions of the Galaxy S26 Ultra and the iPhone 18 Pro Max differ only marginally.

Which is faster, the Galaxy S26 Ultra or the iPhone 18 Pro Max?

The Galaxy S26 Ultra is powered by Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy and the iPhone 18 Pro Max by A20 Pro. Check independent benchmarks for how they compare in the apps you use.

Does the Galaxy S26 Ultra have a stronger camera setup than the iPhone 18 Pro Max?

The Galaxy S26 Ultra leads on camera specs thanks to a higher-resolution 200 MP main camera and an extra rear camera. Processing and personal taste also play a big part in photos.

Is the Galaxy S26 Ultra cheaper than the iPhone 18 Pro Max?

The Galaxy S26 Ultra launched at $1 more than the iPhone 18 Pro Max, based on prices as of September 2026.

Executive Summary

Founder & Editor

On paper, the Galaxy S26 Ultra and the iPhone 18 Pro Max chase the same buyer. In the details, Samsung and Apple made different calls. Practically speaking, the Galaxy S26 Ultra’s biggest advantage is a higher-resolution 200 MP main camera. Where the iPhone 18 Pro Max fights back is a bigger top storage option.

The Galaxy S26 Ultra is built for people who weigh camera heavily, and the iPhone 18 Pro Max for people who weigh memory & storage.

My pick: the Galaxy S26 Ultra is the one I’d buy, unless you need a bigger top storage option, which only the iPhone 18 Pro Max offers.

Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.

Independent comparison, not affiliated with Samsung or Apple. Specs from manufacturer data as compiled by VersusVerdict. · Last updated: · Spotted an error? Report a correction

Summarize this comparison with AI: