Samsung Galaxy S26 front view
Samsung Galaxy S26 2026 · Flagship Smartphone
Photo: SUMAKICHI via Wikimedia Commons / CC BY 4.0
Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra front view
Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra 2026 · from $1,300 · Flagship Smartphone
Photo: เวียร์ via Wikimedia Commons / CC BY 4.0

Samsung Galaxy S26 vs Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra

The Galaxy S26 and the Galaxy S26 Ultra share their roots, so the useful question isn’t which is “good” but where each one differs. On paper, these two are close. Only a handful of specs separate them by a margin you’d actually notice. The details are below, grouped by area so you can skip straight to what you care about.

Summarize this comparison with AI:

At a glance

  • Display Tie
  • Performance Tie
  • Memory & Storage Tie
  • Camera Galaxy S26 Ultra wins
  • Battery & Charging Galaxy S26 Ultra wins
  • Software & Updates Tie

Key Differences

  1. The Galaxy S26 Ultra has 16% more battery capacity

    Few buyers will miss this one. The Galaxy S26 Ultra brings 5,000 mAh to the table; the Galaxy S26 brings 4,300 mAh. Extra capacity also ages better: after a few years of charge cycles, the Galaxy S26 Ultra has more headroom left.

  2. The Galaxy S26 Ultra has a higher-resolution 200 MP main camera

    When it comes to main camera, the Galaxy S26 Ultra wins comfortably with 200 MP against 50 MP. Megapixels are only one part of image quality, so treat this as a sign of detail potential, not a verdict on photos.

  3. The Galaxy S26 Ultra has a 0.6-inch larger screen

    We don’t score this one. The Galaxy S26 Ultra lists 6.9 in and the Galaxy S26 6.3 in, and the better choice depends on your needs. Screen size is personal. If you watch a lot on your phone, the extra area pays off; if you text one-handed on the go, compact is kinder.

Design & Size

By the manufacturer’s measurements, the Galaxy S26 is the more compact phone, and the Galaxy S26 Ultra the larger one.

Design & Build
Design & Build: Galaxy S26 vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S26Galaxy S26 Ultra
Water & dust rating IP68 IP68

Display

Too close to call

On display, the Galaxy S26 and the Galaxy S26 Ultra are effectively level. Either phone will serve you equally well on display.

Screen size

Galaxy S26: 6.3 in
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 6.9 in
Galaxy S26Galaxy S26 Ultra

Screen size

Galaxy S26: 6.3 in Galaxy S26 Ultra: 6.9 in A larger display also means a larger phone overall, so this is as much about your hands and pockets as it is about the picture.

Performance

Too close to call

The performance section is even. Any gaps here are within the range you’d never notice. Don’t let performance decide this one; look at the other sections instead.

RAM

Galaxy S26: 12 GB
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 12 GB
Galaxy S26Galaxy S26 Ultra

Memory & Storage

Too close to call

On paper, the memory & storage comparison ends all square. The memory & storage verdict: no winner, and no reason to worry either way.

Base storage

Galaxy S26: 256 GB
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 256 GB
Galaxy S26Galaxy S26 Ultra

Camera

Galaxy S26 Ultra leads

The Galaxy S26 has a tough time in the camera section, where the Galaxy S26 Ultra pulls well ahead. The Galaxy S26 Ultra answers with a higher-resolution 200 MP main camera. More megapixels on the main camera allow bigger crops and more detail in good light, but sensor size and processing matter just as much. For anyone who cares most about camera, the Galaxy S26 Ultra is the safer choice.

Main camera

Galaxy S26: 50 MP
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 200 MP (winner)
Galaxy S26Galaxy S26 Ultra

Main camera

Galaxy S26: 50 MP Galaxy S26 Ultra: 200 MP The Galaxy S26 Ultra’s higher-resolution main sensor gives you more room to crop, which helps when you can’t get closer.

Battery & Charging

Galaxy S26 Ultra leads

When it comes to battery & charging, the Galaxy S26 Ultra is comfortably ahead. The Galaxy S26 Ultra scores with 16% more battery capacity. Capacity isn’t everything, but when two phones are otherwise close, more milliamp-hours is the simplest endurance advantage there is. That makes the Galaxy S26 Ultra the natural choice for buyers focused on battery & charging.

Battery capacity

Galaxy S26: 4,300 mAh
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 5,000 mAh (winner)
Galaxy S26Galaxy S26 Ultra

Battery capacity

Galaxy S26: 4,300 mAh Galaxy S26 Ultra: 5,000 mAh A bigger battery usually means longer days between charges, although chip efficiency and screen size also shape real endurance.

Software & Updates

Too close to call

The Galaxy S26 and the Galaxy S26 Ultra match each other closely in this area. Treat software & updates as common ground and look elsewhere for the deciding factor.

Promised OS updates

Galaxy S26: 7 years
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 7 years
Galaxy S26Galaxy S26 Ultra

Full Specifications

Display
Display: Galaxy S26 vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S26Galaxy S26 Ultra
Screen size 6.3 in 6.9 in
Panel type Dynamic AMOLED 2X Dynamic AMOLED 2X
Resolution N/A (not specified) 3120 x 1440
Always-on display Yes Yes
Performance
Performance: Galaxy S26 vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S26Galaxy S26 Ultra
Chipset Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy (US) Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy
RAM 12 GB 12 GB
Memory & Storage
Memory & Storage: Galaxy S26 vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S26Galaxy S26 Ultra
Base storage 256 GB 256 GB
Max storage N/A (not specified) 1 TB
microSD slot No No
Camera
Camera: Galaxy S26 vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S26Galaxy S26 Ultra
Main camera 50 MP 200 MP (winner)
Rear cameras N/A (not specified) 4
Battery & Charging
Battery & Charging: Galaxy S26 vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S26Galaxy S26 Ultra
Battery capacity 4,300 mAh 5,000 mAh (winner)
Wired charging N/A (not specified) 60 W
Port USB-C USB-C
Software & Updates
Software & Updates: Galaxy S26 vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S26Galaxy S26 Ultra
OS at launch Android 16 (One UI 8.5) Android 16 (One UI 8.5)
Promised OS updatesManufacturer commitment 7 years 7 years
Design & Build
Design & Build: Galaxy S26 vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S26Galaxy S26 Ultra
Water & dust rating IP68 IP68
Price
Price: Galaxy S26 vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S26Galaxy S26 Ultra
Launch price N/A (not specified) $1,300

“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.

Which One Should You Buy?

Choose the Galaxy S26 if…

  • you like a phone that takes up less room
Galaxy S26 specs & rivals

Choose the Galaxy S26 Ultra if…

  • you want the bigger battery (5,000 mAh vs 4,300 mAh)
  • you want the higher-resolution main camera (200 MP vs 50 MP)
  • you find that bigger suits the way you use a phone
Galaxy S26 Ultra specs & rivals

Also Compared

Frequently Asked Questions

Should I buy the Galaxy S26 or the Galaxy S26 Ultra?

On the specs compared here, the Galaxy S26 Ultra makes more sense for most buyers; the Galaxy S26 doesn’t win a single measurable area.

Does the Galaxy S26 last longer on a charge than the Galaxy S26 Ultra?

Going by the official figures, the Galaxy S26 Ultra leads: 5,000 mAh versus 4,300 mAh for battery capacity. Screen use, settings and efficiency will shape your own results.

Is the Galaxy S26 bigger than the Galaxy S26 Ultra?

The Galaxy S26 Ultra takes that one. With dimensions of 6.9 in, it is larger than the Galaxy S26 (6.3 in).

Which has the better camera, the Galaxy S26 or the Galaxy S26 Ultra?

The Galaxy S26 Ultra has the edge for photography, offering a higher-resolution 200 MP main camera.

Executive Summary

Founder & Editor

When I compare the Galaxy S26 and the Galaxy S26 Ultra, I try to ignore the names and look only at what changes. Here’s what matters most to me: the Galaxy S26 Ultra offers 16% more battery capacity. Then there’s a higher-resolution 200 MP main camera, another point for the Galaxy S26 Ultra.

If the things a spec sheet can’t capture is your thing, the Galaxy S26 fits. If camera matters more, the Galaxy S26 Ultra makes more sense.

My pick: the Galaxy S26 Ultra.

Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.

Independent comparison, not affiliated with Samsung. Specs from manufacturer data as compiled by VersusVerdict. · Last updated: · Spotted an error? Report a correction

Summarize this comparison with AI: