Samsung Galaxy S25 front view
Samsung Galaxy S25 2025 · from $800 · Flagship Smartphone
Photo: 可恩Ke En via Wikimedia Commons / CC BY 3.0
Samsung Galaxy S26 front view
Samsung Galaxy S26 2026 · Flagship Smartphone
Photo: SUMAKICHI via Wikimedia Commons / CC BY 4.0

Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26: Is the Upgrade Worth It?

If you own the Galaxy S25 or still have it on your list, the Galaxy S26 is the phone that replaced it. Most of what matters is shared here; the differences are real but modest. Here’s where the Galaxy S25 and the Galaxy S26 part ways, and where they don’t.

Summarize this comparison with AI:

At a glance

  • Display Tie
  • Performance Tie
  • Memory & Storage Galaxy S26 wins
  • Camera Tie
  • Battery & Charging Galaxy S26 wins
  • Software & Updates Tie

Key Differences

  1. The Galaxy S26 has 256 GB of base storage instead of 128 GB

    At 256 GB versus 128 GB, this is a decisive lead for the Galaxy S26, the kind of difference you notice without looking for it. Base storage is what you get without paying extra. Photos, videos and apps add up quickly, so more space at the entry price is real value.

  2. The Galaxy S26 has 7.5% more battery capacity

    On battery capacity, the Galaxy S26 edges out the Galaxy S25, 4,300 mAh to 4,000 mAh. Extra capacity also ages better: after a few years of charge cycles, the Galaxy S26 has more headroom left.

Design & Size

Dimensionally, these two are near twins.

Design & Build
Design & Build: Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26
SpecGalaxy S25Galaxy S26
Height 5.78 in N/A (not specified)
Width 2.78 in N/A (not specified)
Thickness 0.28 in N/A (not specified)
Weight 5.71 oz N/A (not specified)
Water & dust rating IP68 IP68
Frame Armor Aluminum N/A (not specified)

Display

Too close to call

The Galaxy S25 and the Galaxy S26 match each other closely in this area. Treat display as common ground and look elsewhere for the deciding factor.

Screen size

Galaxy S25: 6.2 in
Galaxy S26: 6.3 in
Galaxy S25Galaxy S26

Performance

Too close to call

The performance section is even. Any gaps here are within the range you’d never notice. The performance verdict: no winner, and no reason to worry either way.

RAM

Galaxy S25: 12 GB
Galaxy S26: 12 GB
Galaxy S25Galaxy S26

Memory & Storage

Galaxy S26 leads

Look at the memory & storage table and one name keeps coming out on top: the Galaxy S26. The Galaxy S26 adds 256 GB of base storage instead of 128 GB. The Galaxy S26 starts with more room, which means fewer “storage full” warnings and less time deleting old videos. If memory & storage is your priority, the Galaxy S26 is the phone to pick.

Base storage

Galaxy S25: 128 GB
Galaxy S26: 256 GB (winner)
Galaxy S25Galaxy S26

Base storage

Galaxy S25: 128 GB Galaxy S26: 256 GB If you shoot a lot of video or keep music and maps offline, base storage is one of the specs you’ll feel most over the years.

Camera

Too close to call

You can skip ahead if camera was your deciding factor: the two are evenly matched here. Both cover camera well enough that other priorities should break the tie.

Main camera

Galaxy S25: 50 MP
Galaxy S26: 50 MP
Galaxy S25Galaxy S26

Battery & Charging

Galaxy S26 leads

On battery & charging, the Galaxy S26 comes out slightly ahead. Here the Galaxy S26 offers 7.5% more battery capacity. A bigger battery usually means longer days between charges, although chip efficiency and screen size also shape real endurance. For anyone who cares most about battery & charging, the Galaxy S26 is the safer choice.

Battery capacity

Galaxy S25: 4,000 mAh
Galaxy S26: 4,300 mAh (winner)
Galaxy S25Galaxy S26

Battery capacity

Galaxy S25: 4,000 mAh Galaxy S26: 4,300 mAh Capacity isn’t everything, but when two phones are otherwise close, more milliamp-hours is the simplest endurance advantage there is.

Software & Updates

Too close to call

Neither pulls ahead on software & updates; the numbers are close throughout. This section won’t settle the choice, so weigh the other areas more heavily.

Promised OS updates

Galaxy S25: 7 years
Galaxy S26: 7 years
Galaxy S25Galaxy S26

Full Specifications

Display
Display: Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26
SpecGalaxy S25Galaxy S26
Screen size 6.2 in 6.3 in
Panel type Dynamic AMOLED 2X Dynamic AMOLED 2X
Resolution 2340 x 1080 N/A (not specified)
Pixel density 416 ppi N/A (not specified)
Refresh rate 120 Hz N/A (not specified)
Peak brightness 2,600 nits N/A (not specified)
Always-on display Yes Yes
Performance
Performance: Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26
SpecGalaxy S25Galaxy S26
Chipset Snapdragon 8 Elite for Galaxy Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy (US)
CPU cores 8 N/A (not specified)
Process node 3 nm N/A (not specified)
RAM 12 GB 12 GB
Memory & Storage
Memory & Storage: Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26
SpecGalaxy S25Galaxy S26
Base storage 128 GB 256 GB (winner)
microSD slot No No
Camera
Camera: Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26
SpecGalaxy S25Galaxy S26
Main camera 50 MP 50 MP
Ultra-wide camera 12 MP N/A (not specified)
Telephoto camera 10 MP N/A (not specified)
Optical zoom 3× N/A (not specified)
Rear cameras 3 N/A (not specified)
Front camera 12 MP N/A (not specified)
Max video 8K30 N/A (not specified)
Battery & Charging
Battery & Charging: Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26
SpecGalaxy S25Galaxy S26
Battery capacity 4,000 mAh 4,300 mAh (winner)
Wired charging 25 W N/A (not specified)
Wireless charging 15 W N/A (not specified)
Port USB-C USB-C
Software & Updates
Software & Updates: Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26
SpecGalaxy S25Galaxy S26
OS at launch Android 15 (One UI 7) Android 16 (One UI 8.5)
Promised OS updatesManufacturer commitment 7 years 7 years
Design & Build
Design & Build: Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26
SpecGalaxy S25Galaxy S26
Height 5.78 in N/A (not specified)
Width 2.78 in N/A (not specified)
Thickness 0.28 in N/A (not specified)
Weight 5.71 oz N/A (not specified)
Water & dust rating IP68 IP68
Frame Armor Aluminum N/A (not specified)
Price
Price: Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26
SpecGalaxy S25Galaxy S26
Launch price $800 N/A (not specified)

“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.

Which One Should You Buy?

Choose the Galaxy S25 if…

  • you rarely use the areas where the newer model improves
Galaxy S25 specs & rivals

Choose the Galaxy S26 if…

  • you want more storage without paying for an upgrade (256 GB vs 128 GB)
  • you often spend long days away from a charger (4,300 mAh vs 4,000 mAh)
  • you plan to keep it for a long time and want to start from the newer generation
Galaxy S26 specs & rivals

Also Compared

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is better for most people, the Galaxy S25 or the Galaxy S26?

The Galaxy S26 wins more of the areas we compared, so it’s the safer pick unless you can keep using the Galaxy S25 you already own.

Should I upgrade from the Galaxy S25 to the Galaxy S26?

It’s one of the more worthwhile generational jumps: the Galaxy S26 offers 256 GB of base storage instead of 128 GB and 7.5% more battery capacity compared with the Galaxy S25.

Does the Galaxy S25 last longer on a charge than the Galaxy S26?

The Galaxy S26 does better here. It lists 4,300 mAh for battery capacity, while the Galaxy S25 lists 4,000 mAh.

Is the Galaxy S25 bigger than the Galaxy S26?

Neither by much. The Galaxy S25 and the Galaxy S26 have nearly identical dimensions.

Which has more storage, the Galaxy S25 or the Galaxy S26?

Going by the spec sheets, the Galaxy S26 has the larger figure: 256 GB, against 128 GB.

Executive Summary

Founder & Editor

Here’s what I’d tell a friend who asked me about the Galaxy S26 versus the Galaxy S25. It’s hard to argue with 256 GB of base storage instead of 128 GB, which is exactly what the Galaxy S26 brings. Another thing in the Galaxy S26’s favor is 7.5% more battery capacity.

Choose by what you’d use most: the things a spec sheet can’t capture leads to the Galaxy S25, memory & storage leads to the Galaxy S26.

My pick: the Galaxy S26 if you’re choosing today, but owning the Galaxy S25 is no reason to panic.

Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.

Independent comparison, not affiliated with Samsung. Specs from manufacturer data as compiled by VersusVerdict. · Last updated: · Spotted an error? Report a correction

Summarize this comparison with AI: