

Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S25+
Here’s a family feud of sorts: the Galaxy S25 against the Galaxy S25+, two models from the same lineup. If you only read one line, make it this: the Galaxy S25+ takes 3 of 6 compared areas, and the battery & charging gap is the one to look at first. There’s also a launch price gap of $200 in favor of the Galaxy S25. The comparison below separates the gaps that matter from the ones that don’t.
At a glance
- Display Galaxy S25+ wins
- Performance Tie
- Memory & Storage Galaxy S25+ wins
- Camera Tie
- Battery & Charging Galaxy S25+ wins
- Software & Updates Tie
- Price Galaxy S25 wins
- Display5.8
- Performance5.9
- Camera1.4
- Battery & Charging0.7
- Display7.1
- Performance5.9
- Camera1.4
- Battery & Charging2.6
Spec scores (0 to 10) are calculated from manufacturer specs against other models in the same class. See how the formula works. They are not reviews or user ratings.
Key Differences
-
The Galaxy S25+ has 23% more battery capacity
At 4,900 mAh versus 4,000 mAh, this is a decisive lead for the Galaxy S25+, the kind of difference you notice without looking for it. Extra capacity also ages better: after a few years of charge cycles, the Galaxy S25+ has more headroom left.
-
The Galaxy S25 has a 0.99 oz lighter build
If weight is one of your priorities, this settles it: the Galaxy S25 leads clearly with 5.71 oz to the Galaxy S25+’s 6.70 oz. Weight shows up every time you hold the phone above your face in bed or type one-handed for a long stretch.
-
The Galaxy S25+ has 256 GB of base storage instead of 128 GB
The numbers aren’t close. The Galaxy S25+ lists 256 GB for base storage, while the Galaxy S25 lists 128 GB. If you shoot a lot of video or keep music and maps offline, base storage is one of the specs you’ll feel most over the years.
-
The Galaxy S25+ has faster 45 W wired charging
A clear win for the Galaxy S25+: 45 W against 25 W. Few specs in this matchup are as one-sided. Faster wired charging means a short top-up before you head out goes further.
-
The Galaxy S25+ has 23% sharper pixel density
Here the Galaxy S25+ pulls well ahead of the Galaxy S25, with 513 ppi compared to 416 ppi. The Galaxy S25+ packs its pixels more tightly, which shows most in small text, fine patterns and zoomed-in photos.
Design & Size
- Galaxy S25 5.78 in × 2.78 in × 0.28 in
- Galaxy S25+ 6.24 in × 2.98 in × 0.29 in
Side by side, the Galaxy S25+ is the one that fills more space; the Galaxy S25 keeps things tighter. The Galaxy S25 undercuts the Galaxy S25+ by 0.99 oz on weight.
Design & Build
| Spec | Galaxy S25 | Galaxy S25+ |
|---|---|---|
| Height | 5.78 in | 6.24 in |
| Width | 2.78 in | 2.98 in |
| Thickness | 0.28 in | 0.29 in |
| Weight | 5.71 oz (winner) | 6.70 oz |
| Water & dust rating | IP68 | IP68 |
| Frame | Armor Aluminum | Armor Aluminum |
Display
Galaxy S25+ leads
The Galaxy S25+ is the clear pick if display is what you care about most. The Galaxy S25+ steps ahead thanks to 23% sharper pixel density. Pixel density matters most if you hold your phone close or read a lot of small type; for casual use, the gap is subtle. So if display tops your list, lean toward the Galaxy S25+.
Pixel density
Galaxy S25: 416 ppi Galaxy S25+: 513 ppi Higher pixel density keeps text and fine detail crisper, although the benefit shrinks once both panels are already sharp at normal viewing distance.
Screen size
Galaxy S25: 6.2 in Galaxy S25+: 6.7 in A bigger screen makes reading, video and maps more comfortable, while a smaller one is easier to use with one hand and slips into more pockets.
Performance
Too close to call
This area ends level; whatever separates these two, it isn’t performance. Treat performance as common ground and look elsewhere for the deciding factor.
Memory & Storage
Galaxy S25+ leads
This is one of the Galaxy S25+’s strongest areas. On memory & storage, the Galaxy S25 falls well short. On its side, the Galaxy S25+ has 256 GB of base storage instead of 128 GB. Base storage is what you get without paying extra. Photos, videos and apps add up quickly, so more space at the entry price is real value. Anyone shopping mainly on memory & storage should start with the Galaxy S25+.
Base storage
Galaxy S25: 128 GB Galaxy S25+: 256 GB The Galaxy S25+ starts with more room, which means fewer “storage full” warnings and less time deleting old videos.
Camera
Too close to call
In the camera category, the Galaxy S25 and the Galaxy S25+ land in almost the same place. Bottom line for camera: it’s a wash.
Battery & Charging
Galaxy S25+ leads
The Galaxy S25 has a tough time in the battery & charging section, where the Galaxy S25+ pulls well ahead. The Galaxy S25+ comes with 23% more battery capacity. A bigger battery usually means longer days between charges, although chip efficiency and screen size also shape real endurance. If this section decides it for you, choose the Galaxy S25+.
Battery capacity
Galaxy S25: 4,000 mAh Galaxy S25+: 4,900 mAh Capacity isn’t everything, but when two phones are otherwise close, more milliamp-hours is the simplest endurance advantage there is.
Wired charging
Galaxy S25: 25 W Galaxy S25+: 45 W Peak charging speeds depend on a compatible charger, which may not come in the box.
Software & Updates
Too close to call
Swap one for the other and you’d lose nothing on software & updates. In short, software & updates is a draw; the decision lies elsewhere.
Full Specifications
Display
| Spec | Galaxy S25 | Galaxy S25+ |
|---|---|---|
| Screen size | 6.2 in | 6.7 in |
| Panel type | Dynamic AMOLED 2X | Dynamic AMOLED 2X |
| Resolution | 2340 x 1080 | 3120 x 1440 |
| Pixel density | 416 ppi | 513 ppi (winner) |
| Refresh rate | 120 Hz | 120 Hz |
| Peak brightness | 2,600 nits | 2,600 nits |
| Always-on display | Yes | Yes |
Performance
| Spec | Galaxy S25 | Galaxy S25+ |
|---|---|---|
| Chipset | Snapdragon 8 Elite for Galaxy | Snapdragon 8 Elite for Galaxy |
| CPU cores | 8 | 8 |
| Process node | 3 nm | 3 nm |
| RAM | 12 GB | 12 GB |
Memory & Storage
| Spec | Galaxy S25 | Galaxy S25+ |
|---|---|---|
| Base storage | 128 GB | 256 GB (winner) |
| Max storage | N/A (not specified) | 512 GB |
| microSD slot | No | No |
Camera
| Spec | Galaxy S25 | Galaxy S25+ |
|---|---|---|
| Main camera | 50 MP | 50 MP |
| Ultra-wide camera | 12 MP | 12 MP |
| Telephoto camera | 10 MP | 10 MP |
| Optical zoom | 3× | 3× |
| Rear cameras | 3 | 3 |
| Front camera | 12 MP | 12 MP |
| Max video | 8K30 | 8K30 |
Battery & Charging
| Spec | Galaxy S25 | Galaxy S25+ |
|---|---|---|
| Battery capacity | 4,000 mAh | 4,900 mAh (winner) |
| Wired charging | 25 W | 45 W (winner) |
| Wireless charging | 15 W | 15 W |
| Port | USB-C | USB-C |
Software & Updates
| Spec | Galaxy S25 | Galaxy S25+ |
|---|---|---|
| OS at launch | Android 15 (One UI 7) | Android 15 (One UI 7) |
| Promised OS updatesManufacturer commitment | 7 years | 7 years |
Design & Build
| Spec | Galaxy S25 | Galaxy S25+ |
|---|---|---|
| Height | 5.78 in | 6.24 in |
| Width | 2.78 in | 2.98 in |
| Thickness | 0.28 in | 0.29 in |
| Weight | 5.71 oz (winner) | 6.70 oz |
| Water & dust rating | IP68 | IP68 |
| Frame | Armor Aluminum | Armor Aluminum |
Price
| Spec | Galaxy S25 | Galaxy S25+ |
|---|---|---|
| Launch price | $800 (winner) | $1,000 |
“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.
Price & Value
In launch price, the Galaxy S25 is the clear budget pick, coming in $200 (25%) below the Galaxy S25+. Step up by $200 to the Galaxy S25+ and you gain 23% more battery capacity and 256 GB of base storage instead of 128 GB.
Prices shown are US launch prices as of January 2025. Retail prices change often, so it’s worth checking current offers.
Which One Should You Buy?
Choose the Galaxy S25 if…
- you notice every gram in your pocket (5.71 oz vs 6.70 oz)
- you’re working to a firm budget and $200 matters
- you want the more compact phone
Choose the Galaxy S25+ if…
- you want the bigger battery (4,900 mAh vs 4,000 mAh)
- you want more storage without paying for an upgrade (256 GB vs 128 GB)
- you want the faster cable charging (45 W vs 25 W)
- you want the sharper screen (513 ppi vs 416 ppi)
Also Compared
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I buy the Galaxy S25 or the Galaxy S25+?
The Galaxy S25+ makes more sense overall. Consider the alternative only if you know that a 0.99 oz lighter build would make a real difference in your routine.
Does the Galaxy S25 last longer on a charge than the Galaxy S25+?
The Galaxy S25+ comes out ahead on battery capacity, with 4,900 mAh compared with 4,000 mAh on the Galaxy S25.
Which is larger, the Galaxy S25 or the Galaxy S25+?
Going by the official dimensions, the Galaxy S25+ is the larger one: 6.24 × 2.98 × 0.29 in against the Galaxy S25’s 5.78 × 2.78 × 0.28 in.
Which has the better screen, the Galaxy S25 or the Galaxy S25+?
On display specs, the Galaxy S25+ leads thanks to 23% sharper pixel density.
Which costs less, the Galaxy S25 or the Galaxy S25+?
At launch, the Galaxy S25 undercut the Galaxy S25+ by $200. These figures are as of January 2025, and street prices can change.
Is the Galaxy S25 lighter than the Galaxy S25+?
The Galaxy S25+ is the heavier of the two; the Galaxy S25 saves 0.99 oz.
Which has more storage, the Galaxy S25 or the Galaxy S25+?
On storage, the Galaxy S25+ leads: 256 GB compared with 128 GB.
Executive Summary
When a brand offers the Galaxy S25 and the Galaxy S25+ side by side, I always ask what you give up by picking one over the other. To me, the standout is that the Galaxy S25+ offers 23% more battery capacity. And the Galaxy S25+ doesn’t stop there; it also offers 256 GB of base storage instead of 128 GB. Still, if you care most about a 0.99 oz lighter build, the Galaxy S25 deserves a look.
The way I see it, people who prioritize portability will be happier with the Galaxy S25, and those who prioritize display with the Galaxy S25+.
My pick: the Galaxy S25+, with one exception: if you specifically want a 0.99 oz lighter build, where the Galaxy S25 has the edge, go for the Galaxy S25.
Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.



