

Galaxy S26+ vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
Within this lineup, the Galaxy S26+ and the Galaxy S26 Ultra are the two models people most often weigh against each other. Close matchups are the hardest to call, and the Galaxy S26+ versus the Galaxy S26 Ultra is one of them. Here’s where the Galaxy S26+ and the Galaxy S26 Ultra part ways, and where they don’t.
At a glance
- Display Tie
- Performance Tie
- Memory & Storage Tie
- Camera Galaxy S26 Ultra wins
- Battery & Charging Tie
- Software & Updates Tie
Key Differences
-
The Galaxy S26 Ultra has a higher-resolution 200 MP main camera
On main camera, the Galaxy S26 Ultra posts 200 MP against 50 MP for the Galaxy S26+, a gap big enough to feel in everyday use. More megapixels on the main camera allow bigger crops and more detail in good light, but sensor size and processing matter just as much.
Design & Size
The Galaxy S26 Ultra simply takes up more room than the Galaxy S26+, whether that’s on a desk, in a bag or in a parking space.
Design & Build
| Spec | Galaxy S26+ | Galaxy S26 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Water & dust rating | IP68 | IP68 |
Display
Too close to call
Call the display round a draw. Bottom line for display: it’s a wash.
Performance
Too close to call
Evenly matched is the fairest summary of the performance section. On performance alone, you can’t go far wrong with either.
Memory & Storage
Too close to call
Side by side, the memory & storage figures for the Galaxy S26+ and the Galaxy S26 Ultra barely differ. So memory & storage is a non-factor here; move on to the areas where they actually differ.
Camera
Galaxy S26 Ultra leads
This is one of the Galaxy S26 Ultra’s strongest areas. On camera, the Galaxy S26+ falls well short. In its favor, the Galaxy S26 Ultra has a higher-resolution 200 MP main camera. The Galaxy S26 Ultra’s higher-resolution main sensor gives you more room to crop, which helps when you can’t get closer. Bottom line for camera: the Galaxy S26 Ultra has the edge.
Main camera
Galaxy S26+: 50 MP Galaxy S26 Ultra: 200 MP Megapixels are only one part of image quality, so treat this as a sign of detail potential, not a verdict on photos.
Battery & Charging
Too close to call
Neither the Galaxy S26+ nor the Galaxy S26 Ultra has a real advantage in the battery & charging category. The takeaway: battery & charging is not where these two differ.
Software & Updates
Too close to call
On software & updates, the Galaxy S26+ and the Galaxy S26 Ultra are effectively level. This section won’t settle the choice, so weigh the other areas more heavily.
Full Specifications
Display
| Spec | Galaxy S26+ | Galaxy S26 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Screen size | 6.7 in | 6.9 in |
| Panel type | Dynamic AMOLED 2X | Dynamic AMOLED 2X |
| Resolution | N/A (not specified) | 3120 x 1440 |
| Always-on display | Yes | Yes |
Performance
| Spec | Galaxy S26+ | Galaxy S26 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Chipset | Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy (US) | Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy |
| RAM | 12 GB | 12 GB |
Memory & Storage
| Spec | Galaxy S26+ | Galaxy S26 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Base storage | 256 GB | 256 GB |
| Max storage | N/A (not specified) | 1 TB |
| microSD slot | No | No |
Camera
| Spec | Galaxy S26+ | Galaxy S26 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Main camera | 50 MP | 200 MP (winner) |
| Rear cameras | N/A (not specified) | 4 |
Battery & Charging
| Spec | Galaxy S26+ | Galaxy S26 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Battery capacity | 4,900 mAh | 5,000 mAh |
| Wired charging | N/A (not specified) | 60 W |
| Port | USB-C | USB-C |
Software & Updates
| Spec | Galaxy S26+ | Galaxy S26 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| OS at launch | Android 16 (One UI 8.5) | Android 16 (One UI 8.5) |
| Promised OS updatesManufacturer commitment | 7 years | 7 years |
Design & Build
| Spec | Galaxy S26+ | Galaxy S26 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Water & dust rating | IP68 | IP68 |
Price
| Spec | Galaxy S26+ | Galaxy S26 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Launch price | N/A (not specified) | $1,300 |
“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.
Which One Should You Buy?
Choose the Galaxy S26+ if…
- you prefer something easier to fit into tight spaces
Choose the Galaxy S26 Ultra if…
- you like to crop into your photos (200 MP vs 50 MP main camera)
- you want the bigger phone
Also Compared












Frequently Asked Questions
Which is better for most people, the Galaxy S26+ or the Galaxy S26 Ultra?
On the specs compared here, the Galaxy S26 Ultra makes more sense for most buyers; the Galaxy S26+ doesn’t win a single measurable area.
Does the Galaxy S26+ last longer on a charge than the Galaxy S26 Ultra?
It’s effectively a tie. The battery figures for the Galaxy S26+ and the Galaxy S26 Ultra are too close to call.
Which is larger, the Galaxy S26+ or the Galaxy S26 Ultra?
Going by the official dimensions, the Galaxy S26 Ultra is the larger one: 6.9 in against the Galaxy S26+’s 6.7 in.
Does the Galaxy S26+ have a stronger camera setup than the Galaxy S26 Ultra?
On paper, the Galaxy S26 Ultra has the stronger camera setup, with a higher-resolution 200 MP main camera.
Executive Summary
The Galaxy S26+ and the Galaxy S26 Ultra share a family name, so let me focus on what doesn’t match. What I like most about the Galaxy S26 Ultra here is a higher-resolution 200 MP main camera.
The Galaxy S26+ makes sense for anyone who values the things a spec sheet can’t capture; the Galaxy S26 Ultra for anyone who values camera.
My pick: the Galaxy S26 Ultra.
Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.