
Beats Studio Pro vs AirPods Max
Choosing between Beats and Apple often comes down to a specific pair of products. In the over-ear headphones class, that pair is the Beats Studio Pro and the AirPods Max. By our tally, the Beats Studio Pro leads 1 of 3 areas. The battery & charging section is where it pulls furthest ahead of the AirPods Max. The launch prices sit $199 apart, with the Beats Studio Pro on the more affordable side. Let’s go through the details, area by area.
At a glance
- Sound & Noise Cancelling Tie
- Battery & Charging Beats Studio Pro wins
- Features & Connectivity Tie
- Price Beats Studio Pro wins
- Sound & Noise Cancelling10.0
- Battery & Charging0.8
- Sound & Noise Cancelling10.0
- Battery & Charging0.0
Spec scores (0 to 10) are calculated from manufacturer specs against other models in the same class. See how the formula works. They are not reviews or user ratings.
Key Differences
-
The Beats Studio Pro has 4 h more listening per charge
On battery (single charge), the Beats Studio Pro edges out the AirPods Max, 24 h to 20 h. Ratings usually assume moderate volume and specific settings, so real results vary.
-
The Beats Studio Pro has a 4.40 oz lighter build
At 9.17 oz versus 13.57 oz, this is a decisive lead for the Beats Studio Pro, the kind of difference you notice without looking for it. Fit and pressure matter as much as weight, but a lighter build is a good starting point for comfort.
Design & Size
If lightness matters, note the 4.40 oz gap in favor of the Beats Studio Pro.
Fit & Build
| Spec | Beats Studio Pro | AirPods Max |
|---|---|---|
| Form factor | Over-ear, foldable | Over-ear |
| Water resistance | none | none |
| Weight (per earbud / headset) | 9.17 oz (winner) | 13.57 oz |
Sound & Noise Cancelling
Too close to call
There’s little to choose between them when it comes to sound & noise cancelling. The sound & noise cancelling verdict: no winner, and no reason to worry either way.
Battery & Charging
Beats Studio Pro leads
The AirPods Max keeps it close on battery & charging, yet the Beats Studio Pro holds a small lead. On the Beats Studio Pro, you get 4 h more listening per charge. The Beats Studio Pro runs longer before needing a break, so you’re less likely to be interrupted mid-podcast. On battery & charging alone, the Beats Studio Pro gets the nod.
Battery (single charge)
Beats Studio Pro: 24 h AirPods Max: 20 h Longer listening per charge matters on long flights, workdays and road trips.
Features & Connectivity
Too close to call
You can skip ahead if features & connectivity was your deciding factor: the two are evenly matched here. Bottom line for features & connectivity: it’s a wash.
Full Specifications
Sound & Noise Cancelling
| Spec | Beats Studio Pro | AirPods Max |
|---|---|---|
| Driver size | 1.57 in | N/A (not specified) |
| Active noise cancelling | Yes | Yes |
| Transparency mode | Yes | Yes |
| Spatial audio | Personalized Spatial Audio with dynamic head tracking | Personalized Spatial Audio with dynamic head tracking |
Battery & Charging
| Spec | Beats Studio Pro | AirPods Max |
|---|---|---|
| Battery (single charge)Manufacturer rating, ANC on where available | 24 h (winner) | 20 h |
| Wireless charging | No | No |
| Charging port | USB-C (lossless audio over USB-C) | Lightning (USB-C on the 2024 version) |
Features & Connectivity
| Spec | Beats Studio Pro | AirPods Max |
|---|---|---|
| Bluetooth | Class 1 Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.0 (Apple H1 chip) |
| Heart-rate sensing | No | No |
| Controls | Physical buttons (b button, volume rocker) | Digital Crown + noise control button |
Fit & Build
| Spec | Beats Studio Pro | AirPods Max |
|---|---|---|
| Form factor | Over-ear, foldable | Over-ear |
| Water resistance | none | none |
| Weight (per earbud / headset) | 9.17 oz (winner) | 13.57 oz |
Price
| Spec | Beats Studio Pro | AirPods Max |
|---|---|---|
| Launch price | $350 (winner) | $549 |
“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.
Price & Value
At launch, the AirPods Max cost $199 more than the Beats Studio Pro. In percentage terms, that’s 57%. Here the lower price and the stronger spec sheet both belong to the Beats Studio Pro, which saves $199.
Based on US launch pricing as of July 2023. Deals and regional pricing can change the picture.
Which One Should You Buy?
Choose the Beats Studio Pro if…
- you listen for hours at a stretch (24 h vs 20 h per charge)
- you want the lighter fit (9.17 oz vs 13.57 oz)
- you’d rather keep $199 in your pocket
Also Compared
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I buy the Beats Studio Pro or the AirPods Max?
On the specs compared here, the Beats Studio Pro makes more sense for most buyers; the AirPods Max doesn’t win a single measurable area.
Which has better battery life, the Beats Studio Pro or the AirPods Max?
Going by the official figures, the Beats Studio Pro leads: 24 h versus 20 h for battery (single charge). Screen use, settings and efficiency will shape your own results.
Is the Beats Studio Pro cheaper than the AirPods Max?
The Beats Studio Pro is the cheaper option, launching at $199 less than the AirPods Max (launch prices as of July 2023).
Which weighs less, the Beats Studio Pro or the AirPods Max?
Going by the official figures, the Beats Studio Pro weighs 4.40 oz less than the AirPods Max.
Executive Summary
Let’s set the logos aside for a minute. The Beats Studio Pro and the AirPods Max are close competitors, and their spec sheets tell an interesting story. What I like most about the Beats Studio Pro here is 4 h more listening per charge. Less flashy, but still real: the Beats Studio Pro brings a 4.40 oz lighter build.
Think about your week. Heavy on battery & charging? The Beats Studio Pro. More about the things a spec sheet can’t capture? The AirPods Max.
My pick: the Beats Studio Pro.
Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.
