

Optiq vs Polestar 4
Both the Optiq and the Polestar 4 sit in the compact luxury suv class, and Cadillac and Polestar are clearly watching each other. Close matchups are the hardest to call, and the Optiq versus the Polestar 4 is one of them.
At a glance
- Fuel Economy & Range Optiq wins
- Space & Practicality Tie
- Off-road & Towing Tie
- Price Optiq wins
Key Differences
-
The Optiq has 17 mi more electric range
The Optiq gets a small bonus on electric range, with 317 mi against the Polestar 4’s 300 mi. Cold weather and highway speeds reduce electric range, so a larger buffer is useful.
Design & Size
Dimensions
| Spec | Optiq | Polestar 4 |
|---|---|---|
| Length | 189.9 in | N/A (not specified) |
| Wheelbase | 116.3 in | N/A (not specified) |
Engine & Performance
There isn’t a number to compare on engine & performance, just names. Look at the rows below to see how the Optiq and the Polestar 4 differ.
Fuel Economy & Range
Optiq leads
On fuel economy & range, the Optiq comes out slightly ahead. The Optiq takes this one with 17 mi more electric range. If you can charge at home, the Optiq’s longer electric range can cover more commutes on electricity alone. So if fuel economy & range tops your list, lean toward the Optiq.
Electric range
Optiq: 317 mi Polestar 4: 300 mi More electric range means more of your daily driving can happen without using fuel at all.
Space & Practicality
Too close to call
You can skip ahead if space & practicality was your deciding factor: the two are evenly matched here. So space & practicality is a non-factor here; move on to the areas where they actually differ.
Off-road & Towing
Too close to call
Swap one for the other and you’d lose nothing on off-road & towing. On off-road & towing alone, you can’t go far wrong with either.
Safety & Tech
The safety & tech entries below are descriptive rather than numeric. Read them side by side to see where the Optiq and the Polestar 4 part ways.
Full Specifications
Engine & Performance
| Spec | Optiq | Polestar 4 |
|---|---|---|
| Powertrain | Battery electric | Battery electric |
| Engine | Single-motor electric | Single rear electric motor |
| Total system output | N/A (not specified) | 272 hp |
| Torque | N/A (not specified) | 253 lb-ft |
| Transmission | Single-speed | Single-speed direct drive |
| Drivetrain | RWD (AWD available) | RWD (AWD available) |
Fuel Economy & Range
| Spec | Optiq | Polestar 4 |
|---|---|---|
| Electric range | 317 mi (winner) Longest electric range | 300 mi |
Space & Practicality
| Spec | Optiq | Polestar 4 |
|---|---|---|
| Seats | 5 seats | 5 seats |
| Cargo (behind rear seats) | 26.1 cu ft | N/A (not specified) |
| Cargo (seats folded) | 57.3 cu ft | N/A (not specified) |
Off-road & Towing
| Spec | Optiq | Polestar 4 |
|---|---|---|
| AWD / 4WD available | Yes | Yes |
Safety & Tech
| Spec | Optiq | Polestar 4 |
|---|---|---|
| Apple CarPlay / Android Auto | No Apple CarPlay / Android Auto (Google built-in) | N/A (not specified) |
| Basic warranty | 4 yr / 50,000 mi | 4 yr / 50,000 mi |
Dimensions
| Spec | Optiq | Polestar 4 |
|---|---|---|
| Length | 189.9 in | N/A (not specified) |
| Wheelbase | 116.3 in | N/A (not specified) |
Price
| Spec | Optiq | Polestar 4 |
|---|---|---|
| Starting MSRP | $49,995 (winner) | $56,400 |
“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.
Price & Value
Only $6,405 separated these two at launch, in favor of the Optiq. It’s unusual for the cheaper option to lead, but the Optiq does, and it keeps $6,405 in your pocket.
Launch prices (US) as of April 2025. Discounts and bundles come and go, so compare current prices before buying.
Which One Should You Buy?
Choose the Optiq if…
- you want more electric-only range (317 mi vs 300 mi)
- you don’t need the extras that cost $6,405 more
- you already know your way around Cadillac’s products
Also Compared
Frequently Asked Questions
Which is better for most people, the Optiq or the Polestar 4?
On the specs compared here, the Optiq makes more sense for most buyers; the Polestar 4 doesn’t win a single measurable area.
Does the Optiq last longer on a charge than the Polestar 4?
The Optiq does better here. It lists 317 mi for electric range, while the Polestar 4 lists 300 mi.
Which costs less, the Optiq or the Polestar 4?
Going by launch prices, the Optiq costs $6,405 less than the Polestar 4. Prices as of April 2025; current offers may differ.
Executive Summary
Whenever Cadillac and Polestar go head to head, I learn something about what each one cares about, and the Optiq and the Polestar 4 are no exception. I think the Optiq makes its strongest case with 17 mi more electric range.
Your priorities do the choosing here: fuel economy & range points to the Optiq, the things a spec sheet can’t capture to the Polestar 4.
My pick: the Optiq.
Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.


