Chevrolet Equinox EV front view
Chevrolet Equinox EV 2025 · from $33,600 · Compact SUV
Photo: Kevauto via Wikimedia Commons / CC BY-SA 4.0
Mazda CX-50 front view
Mazda CX-50 2025 · Compact SUV
Photo: Mr.choppers via Wikimedia Commons / CC BY-SA 3.0

Equinox EV vs CX-50

The Equinox EV and the CX-50 sit in the same compact suv class, but Chevrolet and Mazda don’t always agree on what matters most. Neither car runs away with this one; most of the differences are small enough to shrug off.

Summarize this comparison with AI:

At a glance

  • Space & Practicality Tie
  • Off-road & Towing Tie

Design & Size

Dimensions
Dimensions: Equinox EV vs CX-50
SpecEquinox EVCX-50
Length 190.6 in N/A (not specified)
Wheelbase 116.3 in 110.8 in

Engine & Performance

Names, not numbers: the engine & performance rows below show what each one is built with, and it’s worth reading them side by side.

Space & Practicality

Too close to call

Swap one for the other and you’d lose nothing on space & practicality. On space & practicality alone, you can’t go far wrong with either.

Seats

Equinox EV: 5 seats
CX-50: 5 seats
Equinox EVCX-50

Off-road & Towing

Too close to call

The differences on off-road & towing are small enough to ignore in daily use. The off-road & towing verdict: no winner, and no reason to worry either way.

Safety & Tech

This section is descriptive. The Equinox EV and the CX-50 list different components for safety & tech, and the table spells them out.

Full Specifications

Engine & Performance
Engine & Performance: Equinox EV vs CX-50
SpecEquinox EVCX-50
Powertrain Battery electric Gas
Engine Single-motor electric 2.5L I4
Total system output N/A (not specified) 187 hp
Torque N/A (not specified) 186 lb-ft
Transmission Single-speed 6-speed automatic
Drivetrain FWD (AWD available) AWD
Fuel Economy & Range
Fuel Economy & Range: Equinox EV vs CX-50
SpecEquinox EVCX-50
Electric range 319 mi N/A (not specified)
Space & Practicality
Space & Practicality: Equinox EV vs CX-50
SpecEquinox EVCX-50
Seats 5 seats 5 seats
Cargo (behind rear seats) 26.4 cu ft N/A (not specified)
Cargo (seats folded) 57.2 cu ft N/A (not specified)
Off-road & Towing
Off-road & Towing: Equinox EV vs CX-50
SpecEquinox EVCX-50
AWD / 4WD available Yes Yes
Safety & Tech
Safety & Tech: Equinox EV vs CX-50
SpecEquinox EVCX-50
Largest touchscreen 17.7 in Biggest touchscreen N/A (not specified)
Apple CarPlay / Android Auto No Apple CarPlay / Android Auto (Google built-in) N/A (not specified)
Driver-assist suite Chevy Safety Assist N/A (not specified)
Basic warranty 3 yr / 36,000 mi 3 yr / 36,000 mi
Dimensions
Dimensions: Equinox EV vs CX-50
SpecEquinox EVCX-50
Length 190.6 in N/A (not specified)
Wheelbase 116.3 in 110.8 in
Price
Price: Equinox EV vs CX-50
SpecEquinox EVCX-50
Starting MSRP $33,600 N/A (not specified)

“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.

Which One Should You Buy?

Choose the Equinox EV if…

  • you trust Chevrolet and want to keep things familiar
Equinox EV specs & rivals

Choose the CX-50 if…

  • you already use other Mazda products
CX-50 specs & rivals

Also Compared

Frequently Asked Questions

Should I buy the Equinox EV or the CX-50?

There’s no single right answer. The Equinox EV leads on the things a spec sheet can’t capture and the CX-50 on the things a spec sheet can’t capture.

Executive Summary

Founder & Editor

If it were just about the brand, you wouldn’t be here. So let’s talk about the Equinox EV and the CX-50 on their merits.

The way I see it, people who prioritize the things a spec sheet can’t capture will be happier with the Equinox EV, and those who prioritize the things a spec sheet can’t capture with the CX-50.

My pick: it genuinely depends, with the Equinox EV ahead on the things a spec sheet can’t capture and the CX-50 ahead on the things a spec sheet can’t capture.

Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.

Independent comparison, not affiliated with Chevrolet or Mazda. Specs from manufacturer data as compiled by VersusVerdict. · Last updated: · Spotted an error? Report a correction

Summarize this comparison with AI: