

Equinox EV vs Outback
The Equinox EV and the Outback sit in the same compact suv class, but Chevrolet and Subaru don’t always agree on what matters most. On paper, these two are close. Only a handful of specs separate them by a margin you’d actually notice.
At a glance
- Space & Practicality Tie
- Off-road & Towing Tie
Design & Size
Dimensions
| Spec | Equinox EV | Outback |
|---|---|---|
| Length | 190.6 in | N/A (not specified) |
| Wheelbase | 116.3 in | N/A (not specified) |
Engine & Performance
On engine & performance, the useful details are the names in the table: what each one uses, not a figure we can rank.
Space & Practicality
Too close to call
Call the space & practicality round a draw. In short, space & practicality is a draw; the decision lies elsewhere.
Off-road & Towing
Too close to call
There’s little to choose between them when it comes to off-road & towing. Treat off-road & towing as common ground and look elsewhere for the deciding factor.
Safety & Tech
In the safety & tech section, the key entries are names rather than numbers, so compare what the Equinox EV and the Outback list in the table below.
Full Specifications
Engine & Performance
| Spec | Equinox EV | Outback |
|---|---|---|
| Powertrain | Battery electric | Gas |
| Engine | Single-motor electric | 2.5L flat-4 |
| Total system output | N/A (not specified) | 182 hp |
| Torque | N/A (not specified) | 176 lb-ft Least torque in class |
| Transmission | Single-speed | CVT |
| Drivetrain | FWD (AWD available) | AWD |
Fuel Economy & Range
| Spec | Equinox EV | Outback |
|---|---|---|
| Fuel economy (combined)EPA estimate where available | N/A (not specified) | 28 mpg |
| Fuel economy (city) | N/A (not specified) | 26 mpg |
| Fuel economy (highway) | N/A (not specified) | 32 mpg |
| Electric range | 319 mi | N/A (not specified) |
Space & Practicality
| Spec | Equinox EV | Outback |
|---|---|---|
| Seats | 5 seats | 5 seats |
| Cargo (behind rear seats) | 26.4 cu ft | N/A (not specified) |
| Cargo (seats folded) | 57.2 cu ft | N/A (not specified) |
Off-road & Towing
| Spec | Equinox EV | Outback |
|---|---|---|
| Ground clearance | N/A (not specified) | 8.70 in |
| Max towing | N/A (not specified) | 2,700 lb |
| AWD / 4WD available | Yes | Yes |
Safety & Tech
| Spec | Equinox EV | Outback |
|---|---|---|
| Largest touchscreen | 17.7 in Biggest touchscreen | N/A (not specified) |
| Apple CarPlay / Android Auto | No Apple CarPlay / Android Auto (Google built-in) | N/A (not specified) |
| Driver-assist suite | Chevy Safety Assist | Subaru EyeSight |
| Basic warranty | 3 yr / 36,000 mi | 3 yr / 36,000 mi |
Dimensions
| Spec | Equinox EV | Outback |
|---|---|---|
| Length | 190.6 in | N/A (not specified) |
| Wheelbase | 116.3 in | N/A (not specified) |
Price
| Spec | Equinox EV | Outback |
|---|---|---|
| Starting MSRP | $33,600 | N/A (not specified) |
“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.
Which One Should You Buy?
Also Compared
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I buy the Equinox EV or the Outback?
It depends on your priorities: the Equinox EV is stronger on the things a spec sheet can’t capture, while the Outback leads on the things a spec sheet can’t capture.
Executive Summary
Chevrolet makes the Equinox EV, Subaru makes the Outback, and both want the same spot on your shortlist. Here’s where I land.
If you’d rather have strength in the things a spec sheet can’t capture, go with the Equinox EV. If the things a spec sheet can’t capture is what you’d miss, go with the Outback.
My pick: it genuinely depends, with the Equinox EV ahead on the things a spec sheet can’t capture and the Outback ahead on the things a spec sheet can’t capture.
Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.





