

F-150 Lightning vs Sierra EV
The F-150 Lightning and the Sierra EV are aimed squarely at each other: same class, different badges. Close matchups are the hardest to call, and the F-150 Lightning versus the Sierra EV is one of them.
At a glance
- Fuel Economy & Range Sierra EV wins
- Space & Practicality Tie
- Off-road & Towing Tie
- Safety & Tech Sierra EV wins
Key Differences
-
The Sierra EV has 150 mi more electric range
This is a headline difference. With 390 mi to the F-150 Lightning’s 240 mi, the Sierra EV has a lead that’s easy to see on paper and in practice. Cold weather and highway speeds reduce electric range, so a larger buffer is useful.
-
The Sierra EV has a bigger 16.8 in touchscreen
Think of it as a tiebreaker rather than a deal-breaker: 16.8 in for the Sierra EV, 15.5 in for the F-150 Lightning. The Sierra EV’s larger display gives navigation and menus more room.
Design & Size
Dimensions
| Spec | F-150 Lightning | Sierra EV |
|---|---|---|
| Length | 231.7 in | N/A (not specified) |
Engine & Performance
For engine & performance, the differences are in the specifics (component names and types), so the table is the place to look.
Fuel Economy & Range
Sierra EV leads
The F-150 Lightning has a tough time in the fuel economy & range section, where the Sierra EV pulls well ahead. The Sierra EV brings 150 mi more electric range. More electric range means more of your daily driving can happen without using fuel at all. If this section decides it for you, choose the Sierra EV.
Electric range
F-150 Lightning: 240 mi Sierra EV: 390 mi If you can charge at home, the Sierra EV’s longer electric range can cover more commutes on electricity alone.
Space & Practicality
Too close to call
The F-150 Lightning and the Sierra EV match each other closely in this area. Bottom line for space & practicality: it’s a wash.
Off-road & Towing
Too close to call
Swap one for the other and you’d lose nothing on off-road & towing. In short, off-road & towing is a draw; the decision lies elsewhere.
Safety & Tech
Sierra EV leads
On safety & tech, the difference is modest, and it favors the Sierra EV. The Sierra EV adds a bigger 16.8 in touchscreen. Screen size isn’t everything (physical controls and software speed matter too), but bigger is easier to read. Weighing only safety & tech, the Sierra EV comes out ahead.
Largest touchscreen
F-150 Lightning: 15.5 in Sierra EV: 16.8 in A bigger touchscreen makes maps and phone mirroring easier to read at a glance.
Full Specifications
Engine & Performance
| Spec | F-150 Lightning | Sierra EV |
|---|---|---|
| Powertrain | Battery electric | Battery electric |
| Engine | Dual-motor electric (Standard Range battery) | Dual-motor electric |
| Total system output | 452 hp | N/A (not specified) |
| Torque | 775 lb-ft Most torque in class | N/A (not specified) |
| Transmission | Single-speed | Single-speed |
| Drivetrain | AWD (dual motor) | AWD (dual motor) |
Fuel Economy & Range
| Spec | F-150 Lightning | Sierra EV |
|---|---|---|
| Electric range | 240 mi Shortest electric range | 390 mi (winner) Longest electric range |
Space & Practicality
| Spec | F-150 Lightning | Sierra EV |
|---|---|---|
| Seats | 5 seats | 5 seats |
Off-road & Towing
| Spec | F-150 Lightning | Sierra EV |
|---|---|---|
| Max towing | 10,000 lb Lowest towing capacity | N/A (not specified) |
| AWD / 4WD available | Yes | Yes |
Safety & Tech
| Spec | F-150 Lightning | Sierra EV |
|---|---|---|
| Largest touchscreen | 15.5 in | 16.8 in (winner) |
| Apple CarPlay / Android Auto | N/A (not specified) | No Apple CarPlay / Android Auto (Google built-in) |
| Driver-assist suite | Ford Co-Pilot360 | GMC Pro Safety |
| Basic warranty | 3 yr / 36,000 mi | 3 yr / 36,000 mi |
Dimensions
| Spec | F-150 Lightning | Sierra EV |
|---|---|---|
| Length | 231.7 in | N/A (not specified) |
Price
| Spec | F-150 Lightning | Sierra EV |
|---|---|---|
| Starting MSRP | $49,780 | N/A (not specified) |
“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.
Which One Should You Buy?
Choose the F-150 Lightning if…
- you’re comfortable with how Ford does things
Choose the Sierra EV if…
- you want more electric-only range (390 mi vs 240 mi)
- you rely on navigation and phone mirroring on a larger display (16.8 in vs 15.5 in)
- you trust GMC and want to keep things familiar
Also Compared
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I buy the F-150 Lightning or the Sierra EV?
On the specs compared here, the Sierra EV makes more sense for most buyers; the F-150 Lightning doesn’t win a single measurable area.
Which has better battery life, the F-150 Lightning or the Sierra EV?
The Sierra EV does better here. It lists 390 mi for electric range, while the F-150 Lightning lists 240 mi.
Executive Summary
Let me cut through the brand noise around the F-150 Lightning and the Sierra EV. Start with the headline difference (the Sierra EV has 150 mi more electric range), and a lot of the decision falls into place. Another thing in the Sierra EV’s favor is a bigger 16.8 in touchscreen.
The way I see it, people who prioritize the things a spec sheet can’t capture will be happier with the F-150 Lightning, and those who prioritize fuel economy & range with the Sierra EV.
My pick: the Sierra EV.
Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.




