

Galaxy A26 vs Galaxy A56
The Galaxy A26 and the Galaxy A56 are variations on one theme; the trick is working out which variation suits you. On balance, the Galaxy A56 is the stronger package: it leads in 3 out of 6 areas, most clearly in battery & charging. On top of that, the Galaxy A56 asked $200 more at launch.
At a glance
- Display Tie
- Performance Galaxy A56 wins
- Memory & Storage Galaxy A26 wins
- Camera Galaxy A56 wins
- Battery & Charging Galaxy A56 wins
- Software & Updates Tie
- Price Galaxy A26 wins
- Display10.0
- Camera6.2
- Battery & Charging6.0
- Display10.0
- Camera7.1
- Battery & Charging8.5
Spec scores (0 to 10) are calculated from manufacturer specs against other models in the same class. See how the formula works. They are not reviews or user ratings.
Key Differences
-
The Galaxy A56 has faster 45 W wired charging
At 45 W versus 25 W, this is a decisive lead for the Galaxy A56, the kind of difference you notice without looking for it. Peak charging speeds depend on a compatible charger, which may not come in the box.
-
The Galaxy A56 has a sharper 12 MP ultra-wide
If ultra-wide camera is one of your priorities, this settles it: the Galaxy A56 leads clearly with 12 MP to the Galaxy A26’s 8 MP. A sharper ultra-wide keeps more detail at the edges of landscape, architecture and group shots.
-
The Galaxy A56 has a newer 4 nm chip process
Small gaps can still matter over time, and here the Galaxy A56 leads 4 nm to 5 nm. The Galaxy A56’s chip is built on a more advanced process. That usually points to efficiency gains, though chip design matters just as much.
-
The Galaxy A26 has a microSD slot
The Galaxy A26 brings a microSD slot, and the Galaxy A56 has no equivalent. A microSD slot lets you add inexpensive storage later instead of paying up front for a bigger model.
Design & Size
The Galaxy A26 and the Galaxy A56 take up almost exactly the same space.
Design & Build
| Spec | Galaxy A26 | Galaxy A56 |
|---|---|---|
| Height | N/A (not specified) | 6.39 in |
| Width | N/A (not specified) | 3.05 in |
| Thickness | N/A (not specified) | 0.29 in |
| Weight | N/A (not specified) | 6.98 oz |
| Water & dust rating | IP67 Toughest IP rating | IP67 |
| Frame | N/A (not specified) | Aluminum |
Display
Too close to call
Neither pulls ahead on display; the numbers are close throughout. If display was going to be your tiebreaker, you’ll need a different one.
Performance
Galaxy A56 leads
A modest lead on performance belongs to the Galaxy A56. Point to the Galaxy A56 for a newer 4 nm chip process. A finer process node generally lets a chip do the same work with less power, which can mean cooler running and better battery life. For anyone who cares most about performance, the Galaxy A56 is the safer choice.
Process node
Galaxy A26: 5 nm Galaxy A56: 4 nm Process numbers are partly marketing labels these days, so read this as a hint about efficiency rather than a verdict.
Memory & Storage
Galaxy A26 leads
This area is close, with the Galaxy A26 just ahead of the Galaxy A56. On its side, the Galaxy A26 has a microSD slot. With the Galaxy A26, running out of space can be fixed with a card; with the Galaxy A56, the storage you buy is the storage you keep. Prioritize memory & storage, and the Galaxy A26 is where you should land.
microSD slot
Galaxy A26: yes Galaxy A56: no Cards are handy for music, offline maps and backups, though apps usually run better from internal storage.
Camera
Galaxy A56 leads
It’s a narrow one, but the camera round goes to the Galaxy A56. The Galaxy A56 takes this one with a sharper 12 MP ultra-wide. Ultra-wide cameras often lag behind the main one, so the Galaxy A56’s higher resolution helps narrow that gap. In short, the Galaxy A56 is the better-equipped phone for camera.
Ultra-wide camera
Galaxy A26: 8 MP Galaxy A56: 12 MP If you rarely switch to the wide view, this won’t matter much; if you use it often, it will.
Battery & Charging
Galaxy A56 leads
For battery & charging, the verdict is easy: the Galaxy A56 leads, and not by a little. Choose the Galaxy A56 and you get faster 45 W wired charging. Faster wired charging means a short top-up before you head out goes further. So if battery & charging tops your list, lean toward the Galaxy A56.
Wired charging
Galaxy A26: 25 W Galaxy A56: 45 W The Galaxy A56 refills faster on a cable, which matters most on the mornings you forgot to charge overnight.
Software & Updates
Too close to call
There’s no meaningful winner in the software & updates section; the two are too close to separate. The software & updates verdict: no winner, and no reason to worry either way.
Full Specifications
Display
| Spec | Galaxy A26 | Galaxy A56 |
|---|---|---|
| Screen size | 6.7 in | 6.7 in |
| Panel type | Super AMOLED | Super AMOLED |
| Resolution | 2340 x 1080 | 2340 x 1080 |
| Refresh rate | 120 Hz Smoothest display in class | 120 Hz |
| Peak brightness | N/A (not specified) | 1,900 nits |
| Always-on display | Yes | Yes |
Performance
| Spec | Galaxy A26 | Galaxy A56 |
|---|---|---|
| Chipset | Exynos 1380 | Exynos 1580 |
| CPU cores | 8 | 8 |
| Process node | 5 nm | 4 nm (winner) |
Memory & Storage
| Spec | Galaxy A26 | Galaxy A56 |
|---|---|---|
| Base storage | 128 GB | 128 GB |
| microSD slot | Yes (winner) | No |
Camera
| Spec | Galaxy A26 | Galaxy A56 |
|---|---|---|
| Main camera | 50 MP | 50 MP |
| Ultra-wide camera | 8 MP Sharpest ultra-wide in class | 12 MP (winner) |
| Rear cameras | 3 | 3 |
| Front camera | 13 MP | 12 MP |
Battery & Charging
| Spec | Galaxy A26 | Galaxy A56 |
|---|---|---|
| Battery capacity | 5,000 mAh | 5,000 mAh |
| Wired charging | 25 W | 45 W (winner) |
| Port | USB-C | USB-C |
Software & Updates
| Spec | Galaxy A26 | Galaxy A56 |
|---|---|---|
| OS at launch | Android 15 (One UI 7) | Android 15 (One UI 7) |
| Promised OS updatesManufacturer commitment | 6 years | 6 years |
Design & Build
| Spec | Galaxy A26 | Galaxy A56 |
|---|---|---|
| Height | N/A (not specified) | 6.39 in |
| Width | N/A (not specified) | 3.05 in |
| Thickness | N/A (not specified) | 0.29 in |
| Weight | N/A (not specified) | 6.98 oz |
| Water & dust rating | IP67 Toughest IP rating | IP67 |
| Frame | N/A (not specified) | Aluminum |
Price
| Spec | Galaxy A26 | Galaxy A56 |
|---|---|---|
| Launch price | $300 (winner) | $500 |
“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.
Price & Value
Price alone could settle this for some buyers, with the Galaxy A26 launching $200 lower, a gap of 67%. Spending the extra $200 on the Galaxy A56 gets you faster 45 W wired charging and a sharper 12 MP ultra-wide over the Galaxy A26.
Prices shown are US launch prices as of March 2025. Retail prices change often, so it’s worth checking current offers.
Which One Should You Buy?
Choose the Galaxy A26 if…
- you want to add storage later with a microSD card
- you want more value for your money ($200 less at launch)
Choose the Galaxy A56 if…
- you often need a quick top-up before heading out (45 W vs 25 W wired)
- you want the sharper ultra-wide camera (12 MP vs 8 MP)
- you care about efficiency under the hood (4 nm vs 5 nm process node)
Also Compared
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I buy the Galaxy A26 or the Galaxy A56?
The Galaxy A56 wins more of the areas we compared, so it’s the safer pick unless you value a microSD slot above everything else.
Does the Galaxy A26 last longer on a charge than the Galaxy A56?
On paper, the Galaxy A26 and the Galaxy A56 are evenly matched on battery, so expect similar endurance.
Which is larger, the Galaxy A26 or the Galaxy A56?
Neither by much. The Galaxy A26 and the Galaxy A56 have nearly identical dimensions.
Does the Galaxy A26 perform better than the Galaxy A56?
The Galaxy A56 should be the quicker of the two, with a newer 4 nm chip process on its side.
Does the Galaxy A26 have a stronger camera setup than the Galaxy A56?
Going by the hardware, the Galaxy A56 comes out ahead: a sharper 12 MP ultra-wide.
Which costs less, the Galaxy A26 or the Galaxy A56?
Going by launch prices, the Galaxy A26 costs $200 less than the Galaxy A56. Prices as of March 2025; current offers may differ.
Executive Summary
In-house decisions like the Galaxy A26 versus the Galaxy A56 are where I think it’s easiest to overspend or underspend. My main argument for the Galaxy A56? It comes with faster 45 W wired charging. It also helps that the Galaxy A56 has a sharper 12 MP ultra-wide. The Galaxy A26 isn’t without merit: a microSD slot is a real advantage.
If you’d rather have strength in memory & storage, go with the Galaxy A26. If performance is what you’d miss, go with the Galaxy A56.
My pick: if it were my money, the Galaxy A56, unless you care more about a microSD slot than anything else.
Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.




