

Galaxy A26 vs Galaxy A36
The Galaxy A26 and the Galaxy A36 are variations on one theme; the trick is working out which variation suits you. There is a favorite. The Galaxy A36 beats the Galaxy A26 in 2 of 6 areas, and battery & charging is its biggest advantage. It also matters that $100 separates their launch prices, with the Galaxy A36 at the top.
At a glance
- Display Tie
- Performance Galaxy A36 wins
- Memory & Storage Galaxy A26 wins
- Camera Tie
- Battery & Charging Galaxy A36 wins
- Software & Updates Tie
- Price Galaxy A26 wins
- Display10.0
- Camera6.2
- Battery & Charging6.0
- Display10.0
- Camera6.1
- Battery & Charging8.5
Spec scores (0 to 10) are calculated from manufacturer specs against other models in the same class. See how the formula works. They are not reviews or user ratings.
Key Differences
-
The Galaxy A36 has faster 45 W wired charging
The Galaxy A36 clearly leads on wired charging, and 45 W versus 25 W is a difference that reaches well beyond the spec sheet. The Galaxy A36 refills faster on a cable, which matters most on the mornings you forgot to charge overnight.
-
The Galaxy A36 has a newer 4 nm chip process
On paper, the Galaxy A36 is a touch ahead here, listing 4 nm against 5 nm. A finer process node generally lets a chip do the same work with less power, which can mean cooler running and better battery life.
-
The Galaxy A26 has a microSD slot
If you’ve come to rely on a microSD slot, note that the Galaxy A36 leaves it out. A microSD slot lets you add inexpensive storage later instead of paying up front for a bigger model.
Design & Size
The official dimensions put the Galaxy A26 and the Galaxy A36 within a whisker of each other.
Design & Build
| Spec | Galaxy A26 | Galaxy A36 |
|---|---|---|
| Height | N/A (not specified) | 6.41 in |
| Width | N/A (not specified) | 3.08 in |
| Thickness | N/A (not specified) | 0.29 in |
| Weight | N/A (not specified) | 6.88 oz |
| Water & dust rating | IP67 Toughest IP rating | IP67 |
Display
Too close to call
Evenly matched is the fairest summary of the display section. Both cover display well enough that other priorities should break the tie.
Performance
Galaxy A36 leads
The Galaxy A36 edges the performance section, though the Galaxy A26 stays close. The Galaxy A36 brings a newer 4 nm chip process. The Galaxy A36’s chip is built on a more advanced process. That usually points to efficiency gains, though chip design matters just as much. For performance, the Galaxy A36 is the one to beat.
Process node
Galaxy A26: 5 nm Galaxy A36: 4 nm Process numbers are partly marketing labels these days, so read this as a hint about efficiency rather than a verdict.
Memory & Storage
Galaxy A26 leads
Slight edge to the Galaxy A26 on memory & storage. Most buyers could live happily with either. Choose the Galaxy A26 and you get a microSD slot. Cards are handy for music, offline maps and backups, though apps usually run better from internal storage. The takeaway: on memory & storage, the Galaxy A26 is the stronger phone.
microSD slot
Galaxy A26: yes Galaxy A36: no With the Galaxy A26, running out of space can be fixed with a card; with the Galaxy A36, the storage you buy is the storage you keep.
Camera
Too close to call
If camera matters most to you, this section won’t make the decision for you: they’re level. If camera was going to be your tiebreaker, you’ll need a different one.
Battery & Charging
Galaxy A36 leads
The Galaxy A36 is the clear pick if battery & charging is what you care about most. On the Galaxy A36, you get faster 45 W wired charging. Peak charging speeds depend on a compatible charger, which may not come in the box. So if battery & charging tops your list, lean toward the Galaxy A36.
Wired charging
Galaxy A26: 25 W Galaxy A36: 45 W Faster wired charging means a short top-up before you head out goes further.
Software & Updates
Too close to call
The differences on software & updates are small enough to ignore in daily use. The software & updates verdict: no winner, and no reason to worry either way.
Full Specifications
Display
| Spec | Galaxy A26 | Galaxy A36 |
|---|---|---|
| Screen size | 6.7 in | 6.7 in |
| Panel type | Super AMOLED | Super AMOLED |
| Resolution | 2340 x 1080 | 2340 x 1080 |
| Refresh rate | 120 Hz Smoothest display in class | 120 Hz |
| Peak brightness | N/A (not specified) | 1,900 nits |
| Always-on display | Yes | Yes |
Performance
| Spec | Galaxy A26 | Galaxy A36 |
|---|---|---|
| Chipset | Exynos 1380 | Snapdragon 6 Gen 3 |
| CPU cores | 8 | 8 |
| Process node | 5 nm | 4 nm (winner) |
Memory & Storage
| Spec | Galaxy A26 | Galaxy A36 |
|---|---|---|
| Base storage | 128 GB | 128 GB |
| microSD slot | Yes (winner) | No |
Camera
| Spec | Galaxy A26 | Galaxy A36 |
|---|---|---|
| Main camera | 50 MP | 50 MP |
| Ultra-wide camera | 8 MP Sharpest ultra-wide in class | 8 MP |
| Rear cameras | 3 | 3 |
| Front camera | 13 MP | 12 MP |
Battery & Charging
| Spec | Galaxy A26 | Galaxy A36 |
|---|---|---|
| Battery capacity | 5,000 mAh | 5,000 mAh |
| Wired charging | 25 W | 45 W (winner) |
| Port | USB-C | USB-C |
Software & Updates
| Spec | Galaxy A26 | Galaxy A36 |
|---|---|---|
| OS at launch | Android 15 (One UI 7) | Android 15 (One UI 7) |
| Promised OS updatesManufacturer commitment | 6 years | 6 years |
Design & Build
| Spec | Galaxy A26 | Galaxy A36 |
|---|---|---|
| Height | N/A (not specified) | 6.41 in |
| Width | N/A (not specified) | 3.08 in |
| Thickness | N/A (not specified) | 0.29 in |
| Weight | N/A (not specified) | 6.88 oz |
| Water & dust rating | IP67 Toughest IP rating | IP67 |
Price
| Spec | Galaxy A26 | Galaxy A36 |
|---|---|---|
| Launch price | $300 (winner) | $400 |
“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.
Price & Value
At launch, the Galaxy A36 cost $100 more than the Galaxy A26. In percentage terms, that’s 33%. If $100 isn’t a stretch, the Galaxy A36 gives you faster 45 W wired charging and a newer 4 nm chip process.
Based on US launch pricing as of March 2025. Deals and regional pricing can change the picture.
Which One Should You Buy?
Choose the Galaxy A26 if…
- you want to add storage later with a microSD card
- you’d rather keep $100 in your pocket
Choose the Galaxy A36 if…
- you often need a quick top-up before heading out (45 W vs 25 W wired)
- you care about efficiency under the hood (4 nm vs 5 nm process node)
Also Compared
Frequently Asked Questions
Which is better for most people, the Galaxy A26 or the Galaxy A36?
The Galaxy A36 wins more of the areas we compared, so it’s the safer pick unless you’d trade the rest for a microSD slot.
Which has better battery life, the Galaxy A26 or the Galaxy A36?
On paper, the Galaxy A26 and the Galaxy A36 are evenly matched on battery, so expect similar endurance.
Is the Galaxy A26 bigger than the Galaxy A36?
Neither by much. The Galaxy A26 and the Galaxy A36 have nearly identical dimensions.
Does the Galaxy A26 perform better than the Galaxy A36?
The Galaxy A36 has the edge in performance thanks to a newer 4 nm chip process.
Is the Galaxy A26 cheaper than the Galaxy A36?
Going by launch prices, the Galaxy A26 costs $100 less than the Galaxy A36. Prices as of March 2025; current offers may differ.
Executive Summary
I get why people hesitate between the Galaxy A26 and the Galaxy A36. On the surface, they look like two versions of the same idea. The Galaxy A36 wins me over with faster 45 W wired charging. Secondary, but worth mentioning: the Galaxy A36 has a newer 4 nm chip process. The Galaxy A26 has a trump card of its own in a microSD slot.
Put simply, the Galaxy A26 suits people who care about memory & storage, while the Galaxy A36 suits people who put performance first.
My pick: the Galaxy A36; the one scenario where I’d reach for the Galaxy A26 is if you know that a microSD slot would make a real difference in your routine.
Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.



