

Passport vs Prologue
The Passport and the Prologue share a badge but not a lineup, and that difference shows up in the spec sheet. The Passport wins more of the areas that we compared (2 of 3), and its most convincing lead is in engine & performance.
At a glance
- Engine & Performance Passport wins
- Space & Practicality Tie
- Off-road & Towing Passport wins
- Engine & Performance1.1
- Off-road & Towing8.3
- Engine & Performance0.0
- Off-road & Towing3.3
Spec scores (0 to 10) are calculated from manufacturer specs against other models in the same class. See how the formula works. They are not reviews or user ratings.
Key Differences
-
The Passport has 65 hp more power
The numbers aren’t close. The Passport lists 285 hp for total system output, while the Prologue lists 220 hp. More power helps with merging, overtaking and climbing hills, especially with passengers and luggage on board.
-
The Passport has 3,500 lb more towing capacity
A clear win for the Passport: 5,000 lb against 1,500 lb. Few specs in this matchup are as one-sided. A higher towing capacity lets you pull bigger trailers, boats and campers.
-
The Passport has 19 lb-ft more torque
On torque, the Passport edges out the Prologue, 262 lb-ft to 243 lb-ft. More torque means stronger pulling from low speeds, which you feel when accelerating from a stop or climbing grades.
Design & Size
Dimensions
| Spec | Passport | Prologue |
|---|---|---|
| Length | N/A (not specified) | 192 in |
| Width (no mirrors) | N/A (not specified) | 78.3 in |
| Height | N/A (not specified) | 64.7 in |
| Wheelbase | N/A (not specified) | 121.8 in |
Engine & Performance
Passport leads
Look at the engine & performance table and one name keeps coming out on top: the Passport. The Passport brings 65 hp more power. Power is only part of the story; weight, gearing and torque delivery shape how quick a car feels. Weighing only engine & performance, the Passport comes out ahead.
Total system output
Passport: 285 hp Prologue: 220 hp The Passport’s extra output gives it more in reserve when you need to get up to speed.
Torque
Passport: 262 lb-ft Prologue: 243 lb-ft Electrified powertrains deliver torque instantly, so compare torque figures alongside the powertrain type.
Space & Practicality
Too close to call
The differences on space & practicality are small enough to ignore in daily use. Don’t let space & practicality decide this one; look at the other sections instead.
Off-road & Towing
Passport leads
If off-road & towing is high on your list, the Passport makes the stronger case by a wide margin. Here the Passport offers 3,500 lb more towing capacity. Towing ratings depend on configuration and equipment, so check the exact trim you’re looking at. Anyone shopping mainly on off-road & towing should start with the Passport.
Max towing
Passport: 5,000 lb Prologue: 1,500 lb If you tow regularly, the Passport’s higher rating gives you more margin.
Safety & Tech
For safety & tech, the differences are in the specifics (component names and types), so the table is the place to look.
Full Specifications
Engine & Performance
| Spec | Passport | Prologue |
|---|---|---|
| Powertrain | Gas | Battery electric |
| Engine | 3.5L V6 | Single electric motor, 85 kWh battery |
| Total system output | 285 hp (winner) | 220 hp Least powerful in class |
| Torque | 262 lb-ft (winner) | 243 lb-ft Least torque in class |
| Transmission | 10-speed automatic | Single-speed |
| Drivetrain | AWD | FWD (AWD available) |
Fuel Economy & Range
| Spec | Passport | Prologue |
|---|---|---|
| Electric range | N/A (not specified) | 308 mi |
Space & Practicality
| Spec | Passport | Prologue |
|---|---|---|
| Seats | 5 seats | 5 seats |
| Cargo (behind rear seats) | N/A (not specified) | 25.2 cu ft Smallest cargo area |
| Cargo (seats folded) | N/A (not specified) | 57.7 cu ft Least room, seats folded |
Off-road & Towing
| Spec | Passport | Prologue |
|---|---|---|
| Max towing | 5,000 lb (winner) | 1,500 lb |
| AWD / 4WD available | Yes | Yes |
Safety & Tech
| Spec | Passport | Prologue |
|---|---|---|
| Largest touchscreen | N/A (not specified) | 11.3 in Smallest touchscreen |
| Driver-assist suite | Honda Sensing | N/A (not specified) |
| Basic warranty | 3 yr / 36,000 mi | 3 yr / 36,000 mi |
Dimensions
| Spec | Passport | Prologue |
|---|---|---|
| Length | N/A (not specified) | 192 in |
| Width (no mirrors) | N/A (not specified) | 78.3 in |
| Height | N/A (not specified) | 64.7 in |
| Wheelbase | N/A (not specified) | 121.8 in |
Price
| Spec | Passport | Prologue |
|---|---|---|
| Starting MSRP | N/A (not specified) | $39,900 |
“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.
Which One Should You Buy?
Choose the Passport if…
- you merge, overtake or climb hills with a full load (285 hp vs 220 hp)
- you tow a camper, boat or trailer (5,000 lb vs 1,500 lb)
- you often drive loaded up or with a trailer (262 lb-ft vs 243 lb-ft of torque)
Also Compared
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I buy the Passport or the Prologue?
On the specs compared here, the Passport makes more sense for most buyers; the Prologue doesn’t win a single measurable area.
Executive Summary
I’ll admit the Passport versus the Prologue is the kind of question I enjoy: same maker, same family, and still a real choice to make. It’s hard to argue with 65 hp more power, which is exactly what the Passport brings. It also helps that the Passport has 3,500 lb more towing capacity.
For engine & performance, the Passport fits better. For the things a spec sheet can’t capture, the Prologue is the better match.
My pick: the Passport.
Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.

