Samsung Galaxy S25 front view
Samsung Galaxy S25 2025 · from $800 · Flagship Smartphone
Photo: 可恩Ke En via Wikimedia Commons / CC BY 3.0
Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra front view
Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra 2026 · from $1,300 · Flagship Smartphone
Photo: เวียร์ via Wikimedia Commons / CC BY 4.0

Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26 Ultra

The Galaxy S25 and the Galaxy S26 Ultra share their roots, so the useful question isn’t which is “good” but where each one differs. There is a favorite. The Galaxy S26 Ultra beats the Galaxy S25 in 3 of 6 areas, and battery & charging is its biggest advantage. Budget is a real factor too: at launch, the Galaxy S25 undercut the Galaxy S26 Ultra by $500.

Summarize this comparison with AI:

At a glance

  • Display Tie
  • Performance Tie
  • Memory & Storage Galaxy S26 Ultra wins
  • Camera Galaxy S26 Ultra wins
  • Battery & Charging Galaxy S26 Ultra wins
  • Software & Updates Tie
  • Price Galaxy S25 wins
Galaxy S25 Spec score by area
  • Camera3.6
  • Battery & Charging0.7
Galaxy S26 Ultra Spec score by area
  • Camera10.0
  • Battery & Charging3.7

Spec scores (0 to 10) are calculated from manufacturer specs against other models in the same class. See how the formula works. They are not reviews or user ratings.

Key Differences

  1. The Galaxy S26 Ultra has 25% more battery capacity

    Among all the differences on this page, 5,000 mAh against 4,000 mAh is one of the most meaningful, and it favors the Galaxy S26 Ultra. A bigger battery usually means longer days between charges, although chip efficiency and screen size also shape real endurance.

  2. The Galaxy S26 Ultra has 256 GB of base storage instead of 128 GB

    The Galaxy S25 gives up a lot on base storage: 128 GB, compared with 256 GB on the Galaxy S26 Ultra. Base storage is what you get without paying extra. Photos, videos and apps add up quickly, so more space at the entry price is real value.

  3. The Galaxy S26 Ultra has a higher-resolution 200 MP main camera

    Few buyers will miss this one. The Galaxy S26 Ultra brings 200 MP to the table; the Galaxy S25 brings 50 MP. The Galaxy S26 Ultra’s higher-resolution main sensor gives you more room to crop, which helps when you can’t get closer.

  4. The Galaxy S26 Ultra has faster 60 W wired charging

    When it comes to wired charging, the Galaxy S26 Ultra wins comfortably with 60 W against 25 W. Peak charging speeds depend on a compatible charger, which may not come in the box.

  5. The Galaxy S26 Ultra has an extra rear camera

    It’s a lopsided result (4 for the Galaxy S26 Ultra, 3 for the Galaxy S25) and one of the main reasons to choose between them. An extra rear camera usually means another focal length (ultra-wide, telephoto or macro) and more freedom in framing.

Design & Size

The Galaxy S25 is the smaller phone here, which some buyers will see as a plus and others as a compromise.

Design & Build
Design & Build: Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S25Galaxy S26 Ultra
Height 5.78 in N/A (not specified)
Width 2.78 in N/A (not specified)
Thickness 0.28 in N/A (not specified)
Weight 5.71 oz N/A (not specified)
Water & dust rating IP68 IP68
Frame Armor Aluminum N/A (not specified)

Display

Too close to call

On paper, the display comparison ends all square. So display is a non-factor here; move on to the areas where they actually differ.

Screen size

Galaxy S25: 6.2 in
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 6.9 in
Galaxy S25Galaxy S26 Ultra

Screen size

Galaxy S25: 6.2 in Galaxy S26 Ultra: 6.9 in A bigger screen makes reading, video and maps more comfortable, while a smaller one is easier to use with one hand and slips into more pockets.

Performance

Too close to call

If performance matters most to you, this section won’t make the decision for you: they’re level. On performance alone, you can’t go far wrong with either.

RAM

Galaxy S25: 12 GB
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 12 GB
Galaxy S25Galaxy S26 Ultra

Memory & Storage

Galaxy S26 Ultra leads

This section belongs to the Galaxy S26 Ultra. In memory & storage, it leads the Galaxy S25 by a margin that’s hard to ignore. Point to the Galaxy S26 Ultra for 256 GB of base storage instead of 128 GB. The Galaxy S26 Ultra starts with more room, which means fewer “storage full” warnings and less time deleting old videos. Bottom line for memory & storage: the Galaxy S26 Ultra has the edge.

Base storage

Galaxy S25: 128 GB
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 256 GB (winner)
Galaxy S25Galaxy S26 Ultra

Base storage

Galaxy S25: 128 GB Galaxy S26 Ultra: 256 GB If you shoot a lot of video or keep music and maps offline, base storage is one of the specs you’ll feel most over the years.

Camera

Galaxy S26 Ultra leads

The Galaxy S25 has a tough time in the camera section, where the Galaxy S26 Ultra pulls well ahead. The Galaxy S26 Ultra stands out with a higher-resolution 200 MP main camera. More megapixels on the main camera allow bigger crops and more detail in good light, but sensor size and processing matter just as much. On camera alone, the Galaxy S26 Ultra gets the nod.

Main camera

Galaxy S25: 50 MP
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 200 MP (winner)

Rear cameras

Galaxy S25: 3
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 4 (winner)
Galaxy S25Galaxy S26 Ultra

Main camera

Galaxy S25: 50 MP Galaxy S26 Ultra: 200 MP Megapixels are only one part of image quality, so treat this as a sign of detail potential, not a verdict on photos.

Rear cameras

Galaxy S25: 3 Galaxy S26 Ultra: 4 The count alone doesn’t guarantee quality, but the Galaxy S26 Ultra gives you more lenses to choose from.

Battery & Charging

Galaxy S26 Ultra leads

No contest in battery & charging: the Galaxy S26 Ultra is the stronger of the two. The Galaxy S26 Ultra pulls ahead with 25% more battery capacity. Extra capacity also ages better: after a few years of charge cycles, the Galaxy S26 Ultra has more headroom left. So if battery & charging tops your list, lean toward the Galaxy S26 Ultra.

Battery capacity

Galaxy S25: 4,000 mAh
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 5,000 mAh (winner)

Wired charging

Galaxy S25: 25 W
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 60 W (winner)
Galaxy S25Galaxy S26 Ultra

Battery capacity

Galaxy S25: 4,000 mAh Galaxy S26 Ultra: 5,000 mAh Capacity isn’t everything, but when two phones are otherwise close, more milliamp-hours is the simplest endurance advantage there is.

Wired charging

Galaxy S25: 25 W Galaxy S26 Ultra: 60 W The Galaxy S26 Ultra refills faster on a cable, which matters most on the mornings you forgot to charge overnight.

Software & Updates

Too close to call

Neither pulls ahead on software & updates; the numbers are close throughout. The software & updates verdict: no winner, and no reason to worry either way.

Promised OS updates

Galaxy S25: 7 years
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 7 years
Galaxy S25Galaxy S26 Ultra

Full Specifications

Display
Display: Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S25Galaxy S26 Ultra
Screen size 6.2 in 6.9 in
Panel type Dynamic AMOLED 2X Dynamic AMOLED 2X
Resolution 2340 x 1080 3120 x 1440
Pixel density 416 ppi N/A (not specified)
Refresh rate 120 Hz N/A (not specified)
Peak brightness 2,600 nits N/A (not specified)
Always-on display Yes Yes
Performance
Performance: Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S25Galaxy S26 Ultra
Chipset Snapdragon 8 Elite for Galaxy Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy
CPU cores 8 N/A (not specified)
Process node 3 nm N/A (not specified)
RAM 12 GB 12 GB
Memory & Storage
Memory & Storage: Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S25Galaxy S26 Ultra
Base storage 128 GB 256 GB (winner)
Max storage N/A (not specified) 1 TB
microSD slot No No
Camera
Camera: Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S25Galaxy S26 Ultra
Main camera 50 MP 200 MP (winner)
Ultra-wide camera 12 MP N/A (not specified)
Telephoto camera 10 MP N/A (not specified)
Optical zoom 3× N/A (not specified)
Rear cameras 3 4 (winner)
Front camera 12 MP N/A (not specified)
Max video 8K30 N/A (not specified)
Battery & Charging
Battery & Charging: Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S25Galaxy S26 Ultra
Battery capacity 4,000 mAh 5,000 mAh (winner)
Wired charging 25 W 60 W (winner)
Wireless charging 15 W N/A (not specified)
Port USB-C USB-C
Software & Updates
Software & Updates: Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S25Galaxy S26 Ultra
OS at launch Android 15 (One UI 7) Android 16 (One UI 8.5)
Promised OS updatesManufacturer commitment 7 years 7 years
Design & Build
Design & Build: Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S25Galaxy S26 Ultra
Height 5.78 in N/A (not specified)
Width 2.78 in N/A (not specified)
Thickness 0.28 in N/A (not specified)
Weight 5.71 oz N/A (not specified)
Water & dust rating IP68 IP68
Frame Armor Aluminum N/A (not specified)
Price
Price: Galaxy S25 vs Galaxy S26 Ultra
SpecGalaxy S25Galaxy S26 Ultra
Launch price $800 (winner) $1,300

“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.

Price & Value

Galaxy S25 $800 US launch MSRP, 128 GB
Galaxy S26 Ultra $1,300 US launch MSRP, 256 GB

The Galaxy S25 came in $500 lower than the Galaxy S26 Ultra, a sizable gap of 63%. For $500 more, the Galaxy S26 Ultra adds 25% more battery capacity and 256 GB of base storage instead of 128 GB. Whether that’s good value depends on how much you need those upgrades.

All prices are official US launch prices, last checked February 2026. Actual prices at stores may differ.

Which One Should You Buy?

Choose the Galaxy S25 if…

  • you’d put the $500 saving toward something else
  • you’d rather not pay for improvements you won’t use
  • you like a phone that takes up less room
Galaxy S25 specs & rivals

Choose the Galaxy S26 Ultra if…

  • you often spend long days away from a charger (5,000 mAh vs 4,000 mAh)
  • you want more storage without paying for an upgrade (256 GB vs 128 GB)
  • you like to crop into your photos (200 MP vs 50 MP main camera)
  • you often need a quick top-up before heading out (60 W vs 25 W wired)
  • you’re buying fresh and prefer the more recent model
Galaxy S26 Ultra specs & rivals

Also Compared

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is better for most people, the Galaxy S25 or the Galaxy S26 Ultra?

For most people, the Galaxy S26 Ultra is the stronger choice, unless every dollar counts and $500 is a real sum for you.

Should I upgrade from the Galaxy S25 to the Galaxy S26 Ultra?

The Galaxy S26 Ultra makes a solid case for upgrading, with 25% more battery capacity, 256 GB of base storage instead of 128 GB and a higher-resolution 200 MP main camera over the Galaxy S25.

Does the Galaxy S25 last longer on a charge than the Galaxy S26 Ultra?

Going by the official figures, the Galaxy S26 Ultra leads: 5,000 mAh versus 4,000 mAh for battery capacity. Screen use, settings and efficiency will shape your own results.

Which is larger, the Galaxy S25 or the Galaxy S26 Ultra?

Going by the official dimensions, the Galaxy S26 Ultra is the larger one: 6.9 in against the Galaxy S25’s 5.78 × 2.78 × 0.28 in.

Does the Galaxy S25 have a stronger camera setup than the Galaxy S26 Ultra?

On paper, the Galaxy S26 Ultra has the stronger camera setup, with a higher-resolution 200 MP main camera and an extra rear camera.

Which costs less, the Galaxy S25 or the Galaxy S26 Ultra?

The Galaxy S25 is the cheaper option, launching at $500 less than the Galaxy S26 Ultra (launch prices as of February 2026).

Executive Summary

Founder & Editor

I get why people hesitate between the Galaxy S25 and the Galaxy S26 Ultra. On the surface, they look like two versions of the same idea. To me, the standout is that the Galaxy S26 Ultra offers 25% more battery capacity. Stack 256 GB of base storage instead of 128 GB on top of that, and the Galaxy S26 Ultra’s lead grows.

The Galaxy S25 makes sense for anyone who values price; the Galaxy S26 Ultra for anyone who values memory & storage.

My pick: the Galaxy S26 Ultra gets my vote, but the Galaxy S25 is the right call if you have better plans for $500.

Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.

Independent comparison, not affiliated with Samsung. Specs from manufacturer data as compiled by VersusVerdict. · Last updated: · Spotted an error? Report a correction

Summarize this comparison with AI: