

Samsung Galaxy S26 vs iPhone 17 Pro Max
Few matchups in the flagship smartphone class come up as often as the Galaxy S26 against the iPhone 17 Pro Max. Expect a close race. The Galaxy S26 and the iPhone 17 Pro Max trade small edges rather than knockout blows.
At a glance
- Display Tie
- Memory & Storage Tie
- Camera Tie
Key Differences
-
The iPhone 17 Pro Max has a 0.6-inch larger screen
Bigger or smaller? On screen size, the iPhone 17 Pro Max has 6.9 in and the Galaxy S26 has 6.3 in. Screen size is personal. If you watch a lot on your phone, the extra area pays off; if you text one-handed on the go, compact is kinder.
Design & Size
Size-wise, the iPhone 17 Pro Max takes up more space, and the Galaxy S26 is easier to fit where room is tight.
Design & Build
| Spec | Galaxy S26 | iPhone 17 Pro Max |
|---|---|---|
| Height | N/A (not specified) | 6.43 in |
| Width | N/A (not specified) | 3.07 in |
| Thickness | N/A (not specified) | 0.34 in |
| Weight | N/A (not specified) | 8.22 oz |
| Water & dust rating | IP68 | IP68 |
| Frame | N/A (not specified) | Aluminum |
Display
Too close to call
On paper, the display comparison ends all square. Bottom line for display: it’s a wash.
Screen size
Galaxy S26: 6.3 in iPhone 17 Pro Max: 6.9 in A larger display also means a larger phone overall, so this is as much about your hands and pockets as it is about the picture.
Performance
This section is descriptive. The Galaxy S26 and the iPhone 17 Pro Max list different components for performance, and the table spells them out.
Memory & Storage
Too close to call
There’s little to choose between them when it comes to memory & storage. So memory & storage is a non-factor here; move on to the areas where they actually differ.
Camera
Too close to call
The camera section is even. Any gaps here are within the range you’d never notice. Both cover camera well enough that other priorities should break the tie.
Battery & Charging
Names, not numbers: the battery & charging rows below show what each one is built with, and it’s worth reading them side by side.
Software & Updates
The software & updates entries below are descriptive rather than numeric. Read them side by side to see where the Galaxy S26 and the iPhone 17 Pro Max part ways.
Full Specifications
Display
| Spec | Galaxy S26 | iPhone 17 Pro Max |
|---|---|---|
| Screen size | 6.3 in | 6.9 in |
| Panel type | Dynamic AMOLED 2X | OLED, ProMotion 120 Hz (Super Retina XDR) |
| Resolution | N/A (not specified) | 2868 x 1320 |
| Pixel density | N/A (not specified) | 460 ppi |
| Refresh rate | N/A (not specified) | 120 Hz |
| Peak brightness | N/A (not specified) | 3,000 nits |
| Always-on display | Yes | Yes |
Performance
| Spec | Galaxy S26 | iPhone 17 Pro Max |
|---|---|---|
| Chipset | Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy (US) | A19 Pro |
| CPU cores | N/A (not specified) | 6 |
| Process node | N/A (not specified) | 3 nm |
| RAM | 12 GB | N/A (not specified) |
Memory & Storage
| Spec | Galaxy S26 | iPhone 17 Pro Max |
|---|---|---|
| Base storage | 256 GB | 256 GB |
| Max storage | N/A (not specified) | 2 TB |
| microSD slot | No | No |
Camera
| Spec | Galaxy S26 | iPhone 17 Pro Max |
|---|---|---|
| Main camera | 50 MP | 48 MP |
| Ultra-wide camera | N/A (not specified) | 48 MP |
| Telephoto camera | N/A (not specified) | 48 MP |
| Optical zoom | N/A (not specified) | 4× |
| Rear cameras | N/A (not specified) | 3 |
| Front camera | N/A (not specified) | 18 MP |
| Max video | N/A (not specified) | 4K120 Dolby Vision |
Battery & Charging
| Spec | Galaxy S26 | iPhone 17 Pro Max |
|---|---|---|
| Battery capacity | 4,300 mAh | N/A (not specified) |
| Rated video playbackManufacturer rating | N/A (not specified) | 39 h |
| Wireless charging | N/A (not specified) | 25 W |
| Port | USB-C | USB-C (USB 3, 10 Gb/s) |
Software & Updates
| Spec | Galaxy S26 | iPhone 17 Pro Max |
|---|---|---|
| OS at launch | Android 16 (One UI 8.5) | iOS 26 |
| Promised OS updatesManufacturer commitment | 7 years | N/A (not specified) |
Design & Build
| Spec | Galaxy S26 | iPhone 17 Pro Max |
|---|---|---|
| Height | N/A (not specified) | 6.43 in |
| Width | N/A (not specified) | 3.07 in |
| Thickness | N/A (not specified) | 0.34 in |
| Weight | N/A (not specified) | 8.22 oz |
| Water & dust rating | IP68 | IP68 |
| Frame | N/A (not specified) | Aluminum |
Price
| Spec | Galaxy S26 | iPhone 17 Pro Max |
|---|---|---|
| Launch price | N/A (not specified) | $1,199 |
“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.
Which One Should You Buy?
Choose the Galaxy S26 if…
- you prefer something easier to fit into tight spaces
- you already know your way around Samsung’s products
Choose the iPhone 17 Pro Max if…
- you want the bigger phone
- you already use other Apple products
Also Compared
Frequently Asked Questions
Which is better for most people, the Galaxy S26 or the iPhone 17 Pro Max?
It depends on your priorities: the Galaxy S26 is stronger on the things a spec sheet can’t capture, while the iPhone 17 Pro Max leads on the things a spec sheet can’t capture.
Is the Galaxy S26 bigger than the iPhone 17 Pro Max?
Going by the official dimensions, the iPhone 17 Pro Max is the larger one: 6.43 × 3.07 × 0.34 in against the Galaxy S26’s 6.3 in.
Which is faster, the Galaxy S26 or the iPhone 17 Pro Max?
Performance is driven by Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy (US) in the Galaxy S26 and A19 Pro in the iPhone 17 Pro Max; the spec table below shows the rest of the hardware.
Executive Summary
Brand loyalty aside, I tried to judge the Galaxy S26 and the iPhone 17 Pro Max purely on what they offer.
Who should get which? The Galaxy S26 for the things a spec sheet can’t capture, the iPhone 17 Pro Max for the things a spec sheet can’t capture.
My pick: the Galaxy S26 for anyone focused on the things a spec sheet can’t capture, the iPhone 17 Pro Max for anyone focused on the things a spec sheet can’t capture.
Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.




