

Galaxy S26 Ultra vs Galaxy S23 Ultra
Brand loyalty only gets you halfway here: Samsung offers both the Galaxy S26 Ultra and the Galaxy S23 Ultra, and they aren’t interchangeable. Here the verdict on paper is fairly clear. The Galaxy S26 Ultra takes 3 of 6 areas against the Galaxy S23 Ultra, starting with performance.
At a glance
- Display Tie
- Performance Galaxy S26 Ultra wins
- Memory & Storage Tie
- Camera Tie
- Battery & Charging Galaxy S26 Ultra wins
- Software & Updates Galaxy S26 Ultra wins
- Price Galaxy S23 Ultra wins
- Memory & Storage4.5
- Camera10.0
- Battery & Charging3.7
- Memory & Storage4.5
- Camera10.0
- Battery & Charging3.1
Spec scores (0 to 10) are calculated from manufacturer specs against other models in the same class. See how the formula works. They are not reviews or user ratings.
Key Differences
-
The Galaxy S26 Ultra has 3 years of extra promised updates
Big gap, real consequences. The Galaxy S26 Ultra’s 7 years versus the Galaxy S23 Ultra’s 4 years changes how the two compare in daily use. A longer update promise keeps the phone secure and current for longer, which matters if you keep devices for several years.
-
The Galaxy S26 Ultra has 4 GB more RAM
The Galaxy S23 Ultra is clearly behind on ram (8 GB against 12 GB), and that’s one of its biggest weak spots in this matchup. Opening a single app, you won’t feel the difference. With lots of tabs, a game and the camera in rotation, the Galaxy S26 Ultra has more room to work with.
-
The Galaxy S26 Ultra has faster 60 W wired charging
On this line of the spec sheet, the Galaxy S26 Ultra is in a different league: 60 W, next to 45 W for the Galaxy S23 Ultra. Faster wired charging means a short top-up before you head out goes further.
Design & Size
Both come in at nearly the same overall dimensions, so pick on other grounds.
Design & Build
| Spec | Galaxy S26 Ultra | Galaxy S23 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Height | N/A (not specified) | 6.43 in |
| Width | N/A (not specified) | 3.07 in |
| Thickness | N/A (not specified) | 0.35 in |
| Weight | N/A (not specified) | 8.25 oz |
| Water & dust rating | IP68 | IP68 |
| Frame | N/A (not specified) | Armor Aluminum |
Display
Too close to call
The display specs are close enough that neither gets the point. Net result on display: level.
Performance
Galaxy S26 Ultra leads
The Galaxy S26 Ultra dominates the performance section, and the gaps are large enough to matter in daily use. The Galaxy S26 Ultra delivers 4 GB more RAM. More RAM lets a phone keep more apps open in the background, so switching back to them is instant instead of a reload. Net result: the Galaxy S26 Ultra leads this part of the comparison.
RAM
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 12 GB Galaxy S23 Ultra: 8 GB Extra memory also gives the Galaxy S26 Ultra more headroom for heavier apps and for software updates in the years ahead.
Memory & Storage
Too close to call
In the memory & storage category, the Galaxy S26 Ultra and the Galaxy S23 Ultra land in almost the same place. Neither phone gives you a reason to choose it on memory & storage.
Camera
Too close to call
On paper, the camera comparison ends all square. Either phone will serve you equally well on camera.
Battery & Charging
Galaxy S26 Ultra leads
In the battery & charging category, the Galaxy S26 Ultra isn’t just ahead; it’s clearly ahead. The Galaxy S26 Ultra has the edge with faster 60 W wired charging. Peak charging speeds depend on a compatible charger, which may not come in the box. In short, the Galaxy S26 Ultra is the better-equipped phone for battery & charging.
Wired charging
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 60 W Galaxy S23 Ultra: 45 W The Galaxy S26 Ultra refills faster on a cable, which matters most on the mornings you forgot to charge overnight.
Software & Updates
Galaxy S26 Ultra leads
The software & updates numbers point firmly in one direction: toward the Galaxy S26 Ultra. The Galaxy S26 Ultra takes this one with 3 years of extra promised updates. The Galaxy S26 Ultra’s longer software support can also help its resale value later on. The takeaway: on software & updates, the Galaxy S26 Ultra is the stronger phone.
Promised OS updates
Galaxy S26 Ultra: 7 years Galaxy S23 Ultra: 4 years Software support is what separates a phone that ages gracefully from one that doesn’t, making it one of the most practical lines on the spec sheet.
Full Specifications
Display
| Spec | Galaxy S26 Ultra | Galaxy S23 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Screen size | 6.9 in | 6.8 in |
| Panel type | Dynamic AMOLED 2X | Dynamic AMOLED 2X |
| Resolution | 3120 x 1440 | 3088 x 1440 |
| Pixel density | N/A (not specified) | 500 ppi |
| Refresh rate | N/A (not specified) | 120 Hz |
| Peak brightness | N/A (not specified) | 1,750 nits |
| Always-on display | Yes | Yes |
Performance
| Spec | Galaxy S26 Ultra | Galaxy S23 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Chipset | Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy | Snapdragon 8 Gen 2 for Galaxy |
| CPU cores | N/A (not specified) | 8 |
| Process node | N/A (not specified) | 4 nm |
| RAM | 12 GB (winner) | 8 GB |
Memory & Storage
| Spec | Galaxy S26 Ultra | Galaxy S23 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Base storage | 256 GB | 256 GB |
| Max storage | 1 TB | 1 TB |
| microSD slot | No | No |
Camera
| Spec | Galaxy S26 Ultra | Galaxy S23 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Main camera | 200 MP | 200 MP |
| Ultra-wide camera | N/A (not specified) | 12 MP |
| Telephoto camera | N/A (not specified) | 10 MP |
| Optical zoom | N/A (not specified) | 10× Longest zoom in class |
| Rear cameras | 4 | 4 |
| Front camera | N/A (not specified) | 12 MP |
| Max video | N/A (not specified) | 8K30 |
Battery & Charging
| Spec | Galaxy S26 Ultra | Galaxy S23 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Battery capacity | 5,000 mAh | 5,000 mAh |
| Wired charging | 60 W (winner) | 45 W |
| Wireless charging | N/A (not specified) | 15 W |
| Port | USB-C | USB-C |
Software & Updates
| Spec | Galaxy S26 Ultra | Galaxy S23 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| OS at launch | Android 16 (One UI 8.5) | Android 13 (One UI 5.1) |
| Promised OS updatesManufacturer commitment | 7 years (winner) | 4 years |
Design & Build
| Spec | Galaxy S26 Ultra | Galaxy S23 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Height | N/A (not specified) | 6.43 in |
| Width | N/A (not specified) | 3.07 in |
| Thickness | N/A (not specified) | 0.35 in |
| Weight | N/A (not specified) | 8.25 oz |
| Water & dust rating | IP68 | IP68 |
| Frame | N/A (not specified) | Armor Aluminum |
Price
| Spec | Galaxy S26 Ultra | Galaxy S23 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Launch price | $1,300 | $1,200 (winner) |
“N/A” means the manufacturer does not specify the value or we could not confirm it. Figures marked “manufacturer rating” are the maker’s own claims, not our measurements.
Price & Value
In launch price, the two are close: the Galaxy S23 Ultra came in $100 lower. Spending the extra $100 on the Galaxy S26 Ultra gets you 3 years of extra promised updates and 4 GB more RAM over the Galaxy S23 Ultra.
All prices are official US launch prices, last checked February 2026. Actual prices at stores may differ.
Which One Should You Buy?
Choose the Galaxy S26 Ultra if…
- you plan to keep your phone for years (7 years vs 4 years of promised updates)
- you keep lots of apps open at once (12 GB vs 8 GB of RAM)
- you often need a quick top-up before heading out (60 W vs 45 W wired)
- you find that the improvements in the Galaxy S26 Ultra match what you need
Choose the Galaxy S23 Ultra if…
- you’d put the $100 saving toward something else
- you don’t care much about the upgrades in the newer model
Also Compared














Frequently Asked Questions
Should I buy the Galaxy S26 Ultra or the Galaxy S23 Ultra?
The Galaxy S26 Ultra wins more of the areas we compared, so it’s the safer pick unless paying $100 more feels hard to justify for you.
Should I upgrade from the Galaxy S23 Ultra to the Galaxy S26 Ultra?
It’s one of the more worthwhile generational jumps: the Galaxy S26 Ultra offers 3 years of extra promised updates, 4 GB more RAM and faster 60 W wired charging compared with the Galaxy S23 Ultra.
Does the Galaxy S26 Ultra last longer on a charge than the Galaxy S23 Ultra?
On paper, the Galaxy S26 Ultra and the Galaxy S23 Ultra are evenly matched on battery, so expect similar endurance.
Which is larger, the Galaxy S26 Ultra or the Galaxy S23 Ultra?
Neither by much. The Galaxy S26 Ultra and the Galaxy S23 Ultra have nearly identical dimensions.
Does the Galaxy S26 Ultra perform better than the Galaxy S23 Ultra?
Going by the specs, the Galaxy S26 Ultra comes out ahead: it offers 4 GB more RAM.
Which costs less, the Galaxy S26 Ultra or the Galaxy S23 Ultra?
Going by launch prices, the Galaxy S23 Ultra costs $100 less than the Galaxy S26 Ultra. Prices as of February 2026; current offers may differ.
Executive Summary
The Galaxy S26 Ultra and the Galaxy S23 Ultra sit next to each other in the same lineup. Here’s my honest read on which one makes more sense. Practically speaking, the Galaxy S26 Ultra’s biggest advantage is 3 years of extra promised updates. Nor should you ignore that the Galaxy S26 Ultra has 4 GB more RAM.
Think about your week. Heavy on performance? The Galaxy S26 Ultra. More about price? The Galaxy S23 Ultra.
My pick: the Galaxy S26 Ultra, unless every dollar counts and $100 is a real sum for you, in which case the Galaxy S23 Ultra earns its place.
Personal opinion based on the data above. Your priorities may differ.